PDA

View Full Version : DataLink "Network" function



Gkruse
12-15-2017, 02:36 PM
We have NewTek Datalink running on a Windows 10 laptop along with the standalone version of LiveText. We also have Daktronics DSTI and DakStats Basketball running on a Windows 7 machine. On the laptop that has Datalink on it, I can see the data that the DSTI laptop is broadcasting to the network but I'm not sure how I can utilize it. I put in the correct IP address and port for datalink to monitor but when I go to LiveText, there isn't any scoreboard data.

We also have an All Sport CG and that works to get data but I'm trying to use DakStats & DSTI to do it instead. Am I out of luck or is there just something that I'm missing?

Thanks!

SBowie
12-15-2017, 02:42 PM
We have NewTek Datalink running on a Windows 10 laptop along with the standalone version of LiveTextCan you clear this up a bit for me? When you say you have DataLink running on a laptop, what are you referring to? DatALink isn't a standalone application. LiveText does include a small "Configure DataLink Settings" application - is that what you are referring to?

Gkruse
12-15-2017, 03:18 PM
I guess that is what I'm referring to. On my laptop that has LiveText on it, there is an application called DataLink 3.5 and that is what I'm talking about.

kanep
12-15-2017, 06:02 PM
When you run this DataLink app does it open a window that looks like this?

138886

Gkruse
12-15-2017, 06:51 PM
Yes, and then I went to the network option and put in the ip address and port.

joseburgos
12-31-2017, 02:07 PM
Page 50 of the stand alone LiveText manual explains that you use the serial not network to grab scoreboard data into Datalink. I think if you can get the IP data into a virtual com port program, that this could get your IP converted to serial data via this virtual com port and then chosing this com port in Datalink. Maybe something like Com Port Director by Lantronix http://www.lantronix.com/products/com-port-redirector/
I personally have not done this but in theory it may work.

kanep
12-31-2017, 04:47 PM
The Datalink network function is for RSS feeds, it will not connect to scoreboard systems.

GThomas
12-31-2017, 11:18 PM
Page 50 of the stand alone LiveText manual explains that you use the serial not network to grab scoreboard data into Datalink. I think if you can get the IP data into a virtual com port program, that this could get your IP converted to serial data via this virtual com port and then chosing this com port in Datalink. Maybe something like Com Port Director by Lantronix http://www.lantronix.com/products/com-port-redirector/
I personally have not done this but in theory it may work.

This is precisely what I do with our Daktronics feed and it works great. The only issues I encounter with it seem to be under 1 minute left in a period when the 1/10ths of a second are showing and the shot clock is still active (sometimes the data lags because it is trying to send all of this at once).

RileyM
01-02-2018, 12:14 PM
Yes, and then I went to the network option and put in the ip address and port.

Going out of our AllSport CG we use a Serial Device Server to convert the data from serial to a network feed. We set that as a TCP Server. Then from the ethernet switch connecting the Tricaster we connect another Serial Device Server set up as a TCP Client. Out of the second device we run a Serial to USB cable into the Tricaster. It automatically creates a COM port.
You have to convert the network data back to serial for LiveText/Datalink to see it.

GThomas
01-02-2018, 12:29 PM
You have to convert the network data back to serial for LiveText/Datalink to see it.

Or a virtual serial port (like the Lantronix software Jose linked to)

Gkruse
01-12-2018, 07:52 AM
This is precisely what I do with our Daktronics feed and it works great. The only issues I encounter with it seem to be under 1 minute left in a period when the 1/10ths of a second are showing and the shot clock is still active (sometimes the data lags because it is trying to send all of this at once).

Can you explain how you get this to work? I downloaded that software from lantronix but can't figure out what to do to get it to work.

Thanks!

GThomas
01-12-2018, 01:51 PM
Can you explain how you get this to work? I downloaded that software from lantronix but can't figure out what to do to get it to work.

Thanks!

Which Lantronix device gateway are you using to send serial data?

Gkruse
01-12-2018, 01:55 PM
Which Lantronix device gateway are you using to send serial data?

So I'm completely new to this and don't really understand your question. I have a Lantronix UDS 1100, is that what you are looking for?

GThomas
01-13-2018, 01:12 PM
I found it to be somewhat confusing, but I found this video to be helpful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvveY0a4tv4. For the TCP port, our server was 10001, but the UDS series may be different. Let me know if that works for you!