PDA

View Full Version : Pixels per polygon flat-out doesn't work? Or am I doing something wrong

stib
12-14-2017, 09:46 PM
Testing out JSPlacement for making nurnies, and trying the pixels-per-polygon setting in geometry. So if my camera is 1000×1000 and my subdivided plane fits the camera view, when I set the subdivision to 1 pixels per polygon there should be exactly, or close enough to exactly 1,000,000 polygons, right. Nope, I get 20,000, and my model looks like it's made out of chewing gum.

To get the level of detail that I need I have to set it to per object level and wind it up until it's sufficient (at 8 subdivisions I get slightly > 1 pix/poly)

So is this yet another reason to keep learning Blender, or am I doing something wrong?

MonroePoteet
12-14-2017, 11:56 PM
I'm no expert, but isn't it "Pixels per Polygon", not "Polygons per Pixel"? If your camera resolution is 1000x1000, you're getting 1,000,000 pixels output. Reading the documentation on "Pixels per Polygon", I'd guess your model has 20,000 (unsubpatched) polygons in it and setting "pixels per polygon" to 1 constrains the number of pixels to the number of polygons (20,000), which are then stretched across the 1,000,000 camera pixels to look like "chewing gum". Setting the subpatch level to Per Object and bumping it up allows subpatching to create enough intervening polygons to give you the detail you want. Maybe?

mTp

stib
12-15-2017, 12:17 AM
You're right, you are no expert. The pixels per polygon does not affect the render resolution. It's supposed to change how many polygons the mesh is subdivided into at render time. A 1:1 ratio of pixels:polygons should result in 1,000,000 polygons for a 1000×1000 image.

But either way, whether I turn the number up (see image for what happens if I dial it up to 1024) or down, it's still chewing gum.

jboudreau
12-15-2017, 12:31 AM