PDA

View Full Version : Me, Myself and EYE

wingwalker
12-22-2003, 01:39 PM
Hi, Im just getting into head modeling and have done a few different versions. Im am having real difficulty getting the eye socket right.

I have looked around for tutorials but find most of what ive found lacking.....

My main problem is "Gappy eyes" ...well just look at the pic posted and you'll see what i meen. I find that if i wrap the lids around the ball to close up the gaps, they end up bugeyed.

I look around at the characters being displayed on the forum by astro-sanchez, The ripper, Allen Curtis, pixelranger, etc.... and find that everyone's getting it right.

Are there some tutorials, or books I should be reading, is there something obvious im missing (is the ratio between eye and lids wrong) or is it just trial and error. Please spread some knowledge. GOD knows i need some.

glassefx
12-22-2003, 02:09 PM
To my knowledge their is no certain way to measure things... I am assuming your hitting tab for your head mesh or meta forming it while your eye-objects are a one density mesh that stays the same? If so you just need to tweek the vertices of the eye-lids while it is at a higher-density (i.e - a meta nurb cage).

Ive gotton by with eye-lids that are 4 polys (minus the thickness)

i.e. - a diamond shaped poly on top and bottom of eyeball and each top and bottom is composed of 2 polygons.

toby
12-22-2003, 04:27 PM
Your eyeballs are too small, they are larger than most people realize - the pupils look ok the way they are though, just scale up the rest of it.

Go to Google and do an image search to get some reference

pdrake
12-22-2003, 05:32 PM
also remember that some of that "gap" is filled with muscle and connective tissue irl.

Mylenium
12-22-2003, 11:37 PM