PDA

View Full Version : GPU vs CPU renderfarm



Jina
11-07-2017, 04:39 AM
Hi

The time has come )))

Our commercial project needs commercial render. The question is GPU or CPU? There are a lot adds and sites about that issue at web, but interest about "underwater stones".which can eat a budget fot the same time

Actually, *welcome your experience and ideas

Sensei
11-07-2017, 05:21 AM
LightWave built-in renderer, Kray and Fprime are CPU renderers.
Octane is GPU renderer.

With CPU renderer it's possible to use built-in and 3rd party developers nodes and other built-in features.
With GPU renderer you have to rely on nodes/features made for GPU.

ianr
11-07-2017, 07:29 AM
Hi

The time has come )))

Our commercial project needs commercial render. The question is GPU or CPU? There are a lot adds and sites about that issue at web, but interest about "underwater stones".which can eat a budget fot the same time

Actually, *welcome your experience and ideas


We ain't, Jima got alot to go on here in your post,so I will be general.

It's a question of expansion in: How big is your project in Dollar return,against will
you pitch for similar work in the future,on a returning basis?

So it's maths are payment minus expenses (renderfarm rental) against start of a CPU /GPU
renderfarm purchase for your own studio.

If you go the Octane route the future purchase on Amfeltec GPU Clusters will pay in
Render Time,inside of that, the future purchase 1080 ti's (11gb) is the gold standard,
but you can mix up /down with other Cards, say 980 ti's for instance.It's all a question
of dollar return offset by Investment.Hardware rigs updated are not a waste of time if
the work will be CONSTANTLY rolling in.

You have to work out whether to use say, GarageFarm rental for instance,or invest in hardware?
If you look at say, Neo Lab's ( Rene on Lightwiki) render times with Amfeltec GPU clusters
you can work out what accountants call : amortisation of assets over a project run.
This is what in-house film hardware savvy T.D.'s do when budgeting out a costing!
Welcome to building or investing into your business, which way to jump ?

If it's a single shot gig with no repeats down the tube, the No brainer is to cost say, via
GarageFarm renderfarm calculators, & I do hope that you have AT LEAST worked something
like that into your quote, or your hozed for a decent return on the sweat of your brow .
Don't do stuff for Zilch to get your foot in the door,I know,it always ends in tears.

Good Luck come back & show a render if its in LW2015 later on!

Andrew Goldman
11-09-2017, 07:46 AM
Hi

1. Dependence on hardware
Tool for comparison
https://www.chaosgroup.com/vray/benchmark
here is some characteristics
http://benchmark.chaosgroup.com/cpu - there you can switch CPU and GPU
comparative table by time
http://benchmark.chaosgroup.com/gpu/details?hw=Intel (R)% 20Xeon (R)% 20CPU% 20E5-2630% 20v4% 20% 40% 202.20GHz% 20x20% 2C% 20Quadro% 20M2000% 204096MB & id = 2383

2. Dependence on the price of the farm on which the equipment is installed.
For example, from this list, the price difference for the CPU https://rentrender.com/all-render-farms-list/
price for GPU https://rentrender.com/gpu-render-farms-list/

The rest depends on the budget and terms (deadline) of the project

ianr
11-10-2017, 09:42 AM
Hi

The time has come )))

Our commercial project needs commercial render. The question is GPU or CPU? There are a lot adds and sites about that issue at web, but interest about "underwater stones".which can eat a budget fot the same time

Actually, *welcome your experience and ideas



Hello? JINA whats your thoughts Now?

Jina
11-10-2017, 07:13 PM
Hello? JINA whats your thoughts Now?

Well, we do like that
1. step is using free CPU renderfarm from Andrew Goldman's list (https://rentrender.com/online-render-farm-service/pearender/) for calculatin time and understanding bugs
2. than use cheapes GPU renderfarm for clean rendering, again from Andrew's list (https://rentrender.com/online-render-farm-service/xiruim-farm/).

Talking about money - GPU economise them. So project was render at time.

Talking about communicatin with renderfarm managers, your should honestly say what you want from them like in quality and time and at soft. If they give positive answer for 24 hours is mean that they dont have mach work and ready help you instead you should go to anoter renderfarm ))) And better tell 1000 time what you want before rendering then regret ...

Jina
11-10-2017, 07:17 PM
advice - first contact with renderfarm you should make by telephon (skype, ip atc). After your call all managers start think that you really interested at there service and have more tolerant partnership.