PDA

View Full Version : fake sss with new grad

EyelandArts.com
03-07-2003, 11:09 AM
This is my first attempt at fake sss with the new gradient. This is a lot of fun!

EyelandArts.com
03-07-2003, 02:17 PM
And another test.

Matt
03-07-2003, 02:20 PM
cool, it seems to work then! I've got it to do something but not as dramatic as your green thingy! what settings did you use if you don't mind me asking?

EyelandArts.com
03-07-2003, 02:28 PM
The most important things are that you use double sided and aparently you might have to turn on ray trace transparency. besides that, im using it on the luminosity and color channels as well as an additional luminosity channel with distance to light.
I also have radiosity turned on very low rays for some added fill.
render is only about a minute without the depth of field and about three with.
Ill Zip these up later and post the link.
Alex

GruvSyco
03-07-2003, 02:53 PM
Not a criticism at all both pics look great but, I think the effect looks better on the first one. From a photorealistic point of view, the second pic shoes no refraction which would happen through water like that. Nonetheless, cool stuff and thanks for sharing :)

oxyg3n
03-07-2003, 04:32 PM
Hello All,

I was wondering how you go about faking sss with graditents, I have not heard of doing this before?

brtk
03-07-2003, 08:27 PM
I think he used the new surface thickness gradient new in 7.5b...

EyelandArts.com
03-07-2003, 08:49 PM
Yep, thats right. Thickness gradient. Very nice feature.
GruvSyco, Thanks! The bottom pic does have refraction but because I used only a singlepoly to test with little bump, it doesnt do much. Im doing one now with subdivided water and refraction blurring. Looks great but very heavy to render.

sidewing
03-07-2003, 10:36 PM
WOuld love to see the settings...

Have you tried skin? Skin is one of the hardest things to "fake".

Thanks,

John

Murphy
03-08-2003, 01:39 AM
(^_^;) Well I have to say it looks great but...