PDA

View Full Version : packaging a scene problem



vonpietro
10-11-2017, 03:49 PM
Hi,

I have a large scene its 502 objects, 380 images, 23 million polys big.

I try packaging it - hit presevere and go
it crashes.

i tried the first half the objects, and it works
i tried the second half without the first half and it works.
but all together it keeps crashing.

also - there seems to be some tipping point, if i do 3/4 of the objects kept it crashes

it suggests that there is some limit to how many objects can be in the scene possibly with packaging.

also the only thing that gets saved is the images up to a point before the crash happens suggesting it's something with images. there is a mix of png, tga, avi sequence, and reference images so everything.


so any ideas?

Sensei
10-11-2017, 05:42 PM
Copy everything to separate folder,
so images won't be found and used (I hope so they're relative path format?).
And try loading scene from this new location,
ignore "image missing" complains.
Save everything.

Try packing without images.
I'll tell whether problem is in objects or images.
I guess.

What is reason for packaging scene.. ?

Do you want to send it to render farm.. ?

You can always try my Bake Scene plugin.
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?153565-BakeScene-v1-0-has-been-released!&highlight=bakescene

380 images 4096 x 4096 32 bit pixel format = ~ 24 GB data that must be loaded to gfx card memory.. plus mipmaps..

jakuzaa
10-12-2017, 02:54 AM
Create new empty project folder with Scenes/Objects/images. Load your scene, change content directory to the new created folder, save your scene there. Choose package scene but change action to consolidate files, should work.

vonpietro
10-12-2017, 09:08 AM
how is consolidate different than package?

jakuzaa
10-12-2017, 10:39 AM
I don't know but it works for me. I'm working on big arch-viz scenes and had the same issue like yours. Not sure about avi or image sequences though.

vonpietro
11-08-2017, 05:11 PM
i think the problem, is i made a dir, inside that dir i put a lw dir with the normal images, object scene - but no the same level i made a zip dir, and i had alot of objects i had used from there - since it was lateral - package scene would not work with it for some reason, i never did figure out what was crashing it though.

any one know what consolidate, or preserve structure means?

sukardi
11-08-2017, 05:36 PM
I tend to have problems when there are more than one instance of image/textures.

I don't know the solution though. Maybe consolidate can overcome this.

Ma3rk
11-09-2017, 06:08 AM
I've experienced that if I run the Package Scene script & it misses some things, run it a second time pointing to the same folder of course, and it often will find the balance. Your mileage may vary.

papou
11-09-2017, 12:06 PM
I tend to have problems when there are more than one instance of image/textures.

I don't know the solution though. Maybe consolidate can overcome this.

This is what coming to my mind too. (The solution is to have a real copy of the images. Not Image instanced.)