PDA

View Full Version : Houdini geo plugin - can u test ?



erikals
09-29-2017, 04:12 PM
hi,

just a quick simple question, can you try to install this plugin on your PC, 64bit LW?

i couldn't get it to work, so hoping some others have more luck >
http://forums.odforce.net/topic/7260-houdini-to-lightwave-pipeline/?do=findComment&comment=141299

papou
09-29-2017, 05:35 PM
Please clean your avatar on this site too.

erikals
09-29-2017, 11:30 PM
it's clean, the antivirus you have is not updated.

tischbein3
09-30-2017, 08:03 AM
compiled a lw 11 version of the plugin (killed the vidscape saver stuff out of the code)
it loaded the pig file correctly in lw 2015
tell me if it works for you

prometheus
09-30-2017, 08:26 AM
it's clean, the antivirus you have is not updated.

My avast warns as well..the antivirus is updated, however..your avatar on these forums (newer posts) are okey, while your old posts still warns here on the forums and on the oddforce page.

erikals
09-30-2017, 12:59 PM
compiled a lw 11 version of the plugin (killed the vidscape saver stuff out of the code)
it loaded the pig file correctly in lw 2015
tell me if it works for you

thanks :) getting much closer, it imported the hclassic file just fine with an endomorph. :) cool...!
the old 32bit plugin read .geo files instead, would that be an easy change? (as .geo files are possible to sequence export in Houdini Apprentice)

however, VERY nice! :king:  thank you, hopefully i'll be cooking something Neat soon :)

tischbein3
09-30-2017, 01:37 PM
not sure on this one, I've just recompiled the source, and as eetu said
it only does the old geo format. As for developing it further, not sure
I set it on my todo list, but currently I have to complete another lw plugin first.

erikals
09-30-2017, 02:32 PM
no problem, need to get Houdini Indie to test further.

i'm just happy i have a 64bit option that looks to work.   :)

:bowdown:

erikals
10-01-2017, 02:37 AM
as i tag along, i think i found a missing function.

the plugin seems to be exporting points only, no mesh.

i'll posts a copy over at the odforce forums, see if Eetu knows what is missing


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9fMfbSfhJfY

prometheus
10-01-2017, 10:06 AM
Itīs been a while, but can you not just export geo sequences directly without any plugin? I think I recall doing that before...I need to install the newer houdini ASAP and check again, think I got a vid explaining how to somewhere, not made by me but anyway.

erikals
10-01-2017, 10:10 AM
yes, quite some time now :)

geo works fine, however you will loose the endomorph that you need for motion blur.

(the purpose of the LW plugin is to work quite similar to the RealFlow moblur function/plugin)
however with no mesh it becomes tricky. i can't remesh either i think, as that'd probably lose the endomorph.
neither would HyperVoxels work that great, only in some circumstances.

not sure what to do.

i have to go though... https://cdn.jsdelivr.net/emojione/assets/png/1f682.png

papou
10-01-2017, 10:57 AM
it's clean, the antivirus you have is not updated.

My antivirus is up to date (171001) on Avast 17.6.2310.
Please, you can't imagine how often it is warning about your avatar.

Kill this one: http://erikalstad.com/emoji/matrix.gif
in fact: http://erikalstad.com/ alarms aswell.

erikals
10-02-2017, 12:32 AM
your Avast is not up to date.
> the file that is being referred to is gone
> the path that is being referred to is gone

sorry, nothing i can do about that.
i'm removing erikalstad.com quite soon, but even if i do this, Avast will still keep old history.

papou
10-02-2017, 08:10 AM
...Why not change the avatar with one that not pointing on erikalstad.com? .. What about a clean avatar?

erikals
10-02-2017, 09:56 AM
the avatar is not pointing on erikalstad.com

Avast is doing it wrong, that's the way AV works, it's never correct, and never up to date.