PDA

View Full Version : Split Fish_Spline Anomaly

jimiclaybrooks
09-23-2017, 08:31 PM
Hey, can someone tell me what I did wrong with this spline path for my fish? 137990 As you can see from this image, the fish flips upside down. Since I'm new to the spline tool, I don't understand what this is, and I haven't been able to rectify it. Clearly, there are some things that I need to be careful of. Thanks

Sensei
09-23-2017, 08:43 PM
Take a look at where are pointing red, green, and blue arrows.
On screen-shot that you made green arrow is pointing up.
Where it's pointing on just previous key?

jeric_synergy
09-24-2017, 12:00 AM
It's a simple fix, if I can remember it.... for one thing, try disabling BANK in the Motion Path.... gah, I know I had the same problem b4, and it's simple, but not exactly intuitive.

If you can upload your scene, that's the best way to get a good answer.

++++
OK, built a test scene and remembered: if you are using the RIBBON display, you can see where the kinks occur. To git rid of them you rotate the elements (usually nulls) that make up the Spline. Basically you want them to point to the next element in the chain. You can do this by hand, but that sucks and what if you move something? Better is, make every link/null in the chain TARGET the next link in the chain.

It's a bit of a PITA for any significant number of nulls :( -- I can't remember if there's a script to do this for you.

Also, turning off BANK only works in short segments, I don't remember why.

jimiclaybrooks
09-24-2017, 05:08 AM
So when I used shift spline transform, each null was controllable in all of the channels. I could ever rotate a null and move the parented nulls that were down the chain if I wanted to. In this case, correct me if I'm wrong, I can't do that, or can I?
Seems like this is better and worse, if that's possible. I'll keep fiddling with it to see what I can do. Thanks for the help.

lertola2
09-24-2017, 06:59 AM