PDA

View Full Version : Would that be legal?



michaeldejong
09-13-2017, 02:43 PM
Hello community.

I have never used LightWave for real commercial jobs, but I am starting to do some projects for my employer and I just encountered a dilemma.

So I know I have only purchased one seat of LightWave, and I am not pro-piracy. But what is stopping me from installing my copy of LightWave on a computer at the office and developing while my computer at home is rendering?

Does LightWave track usage (By IP or something) and submit that data to see if somebody has more than one computer running their software?

What should I do?

ernpchan
09-13-2017, 03:00 PM
Hello community.

I have never used LightWave for real commercial jobs, but I am starting to do some projects for my employer and I just encountered a dilemma.

So I know I have only purchased one seat of LightWave, and I am not pro-piracy. But what is stopping me from installing my copy of LightWave on a computer at the office and developing while my computer at home is rendering?

Does LightWave track usage (By IP or something) and submit that data to see if somebody has more than one computer running their software?

What should I do?

Well with each license you get free render nodes. So you could set up command lines to call the lwsn file, which is the render node executable, and you'd be fine.

To my knowledge NewTek does not collect information like that.

bobakabob
09-13-2017, 05:14 PM
Well with each license you get free render nodes. So you could set up command lines to call the lwsn file, which is the render node executable, and you'd be fine.

To my knowledge NewTek does not collect information like that.

I recently fired up LW without realising it was running on another machine and it opened in demo mode. I've no idea if the two machines communicated in some way (they share the same internet connection) or if it was just a random thing. However, the demo version triggered alarm bells as ir had some specialist plugins and I had deadline to meet. Once I suspected the cause and shut both versions down, the license worked again with only one version opened. Since then, for fear of license error hell I've avoided the same scenario. It would be good if someone could confirm how the licensing operates but I really don't begrudge a company protecting against potential piracy. Has anyone else experienced this?

Btw, you can work with multiple instances on the same machine. I once rendered two scenes out at the same time though at exactly half the speed. You can also model whilst you're rendering.

Surrealist.
09-13-2017, 06:03 PM
I think this is a question for customer support and sales don't you? Contact them with how many uses you are allowed and how to do it. Most licenses these days allow you to run on two of your own machines. For rendering I agree with the solution of setting up and running a node remotely.

Paul_Boland
09-13-2017, 09:55 PM
The way it works is that you can't run the same program (modeller or layout) on two computers on the same network. So if you install it at work while your home computer is rendering, both versions will work. But if you had layout rendering on your desktop at home and started up layout on your laptop at home, and both computers are on the same home network, the second copy started up - the laptop copy, will start up in demo mode. You can install Lightwave on lots of computers but can only run it legally on one of them at any time.

Greenlaw
09-14-2017, 10:16 AM
IMO, your employer should provide you with a license at their work place. But if you do use your personal license on a work computer you don't own, remember to remove your personal key if you ever leave your position.

MichaelT
09-14-2017, 01:43 PM
What @ernpchan said.

erikals
09-15-2017, 08:13 AM
it would be very nice to know.

what if i want to compute ClothFX on a second machine for example.

------

just sent an email, let's see... ..

erikals
09-15-2017, 08:26 AM
You can install Lightwave on lots of computers but can only run it legally on one of them at any time.
if so, i think they should change it. especially with Blender gaining terrain.
why lose customers with cumbersome rules if you don't have to.

Particles > better in Blender
Cloth > better in Blender
CA > better in Blender
Modeling > often better in Blender
Motion Graphics > better in Blender

and so on...
i stick with LightWave because of workflow, and i don't need more LightWave limitations. neither do you.

erikals
09-15-2017, 09:16 AM
nope.

to shorten the answer from NT >
you are only allowed to use 1 version of LightWave, however it can be installed on multiple machines.

the policy is not likely to change.
so if you want to use another PC to compute slow ClothFX, you need an additional license.

luckily it seems i am turning to Syflex for cloth.

raymondtrace
09-15-2017, 09:25 AM
I'm seeing two questions.

The first question, and title of the discussion, is answered as "no" in the EULA.

"This License allows you to use one copy of the Software on a single computer at a time."

The second question is if you can technically get away with violating the license. So there's little reason to sincerely ask the first question.

As otherwise noted, you can use the free rendering nodes. It is probably better to render on networked computers at work anyway as there would be more computing resources than at home.

If you use the USB dongle for licensing, there's no need to install LW @ work. LW can run portably from a USB thumb drive. You'll only need to install the sentinel drivers for the dongle. This also addresses the matter mentioned by Greenlaw. You don't need to worry about leaving behind a license if you always keep it with you. I run LW portably from my keychain...so when I leave for the day, I can't get in my car without bringing LW with me.

Bear in mind that an employer that does not purchase the tools to perform a job, may not be fairly compensating the individual that must spend considerable time to learn those tools. Don't get ripped off by your employer.

erikals
09-15-2017, 09:32 AM
Bear in mind that an employer that does not purchase the tools to perform a job,
may not be fairly compensating the individual that must spend considerable time to learn those tools.
Don't get ripped off by your employer.
totally, however i think most employers would. and if they don't suggest it, suggest it for them.
for an employer a LightWave license is only pennies anyway. if they can't afford that, take that as a warning sign.

vonpietro
09-15-2017, 11:27 AM
if you have the ram - you can have many copies of lw open all doing different things. You can also use task manager to tell which lw gets more resources. sometimes it's easier to do that than set up a render node.

also if you are modeling with lw's open and rendering - set your modeler to high in the task manager, and it wont slow down as much as it now will get cpu priority.

rustythe1
09-15-2017, 05:32 PM
not sure what the law is in Canada, but in the uk your not technically allowed by law to use personnel software in the workplace as its considered a type of tax fraud as all work materials have to be accounted for by the employer, its the same with many free softwares, the last company I worked for we were not allowed to install things like microsoft essentials after the tax man did an audit, all software had to have an audit trail, and they did randomly check machines during audits (although the chances of it happening are slim it can happen) so like what was said above your employer should be supplying the tools if your doing the work,

MichaelT
09-16-2017, 06:23 AM
not sure what the law is in Canada, but in the uk your not technically allowed by law to use personnel software in the workplace as its considered a type of tax fraud as all work materials have to be accounted for by the employer, its the same with many free softwares, the last company I worked for we were not allowed to install things like microsoft essentials after the tax man did an audit, all software had to have an audit trail, and they did randomly check machines during audits (although the chances of it happening are slim it can happen) so like what was said above your employer should be supplying the tools if your doing the work,

Not only that.. in UK.. (AFAIK anyway) anything you produce.. even in your spare time.. they pretty much own it. Luckily, not all places in the world are as draconian.

Greenlaw
09-16-2017, 02:43 PM
Not only that.. in UK.. (AFAIK anyway) anything you produce.. even in your spare time.. they pretty much own it. Luckily, not all places in the world are as draconian.

That's not the case here. In general, anything is negotiable.

Normally, the client is purchasing print or broadcast rights, but this doesn't include the physical work itself or the elements or tools used to create it. Ownership of the original work itself is not assumed and is treated separately from printing/broadcast/distribution rights. Exactly what it being purchased or contracted for should be spelled out in a contract.

In film and TV productions, most studios will get you to sign what's called a work-for-hire contract and own everything you produce for them outright. Usually, the artist can reserve the right to use footage for self-promotion (demo reels for animators/vfx artist,) but this shouldn't be assumed either--make sure it's in the contract before signing.

In many situations, an artist can negotiate the terms of a contract. It really comes down to who wants what badly enough to pay for it or give it up.