PDA

View Full Version : Why have you stuck with LW all this time!

tcoursey
09-06-2017, 08:44 AM
I have been using LW since 2001ish. I used 3D studio (not max) prior to that a little bit. I don't want this to be a bash or mass exit thread. Curious if others find the same things in the liking of LW as I do.

I kind of like the fact that it's two programs. Although we are a small studio it does allow for collaboration that isn't possible (I don't think) in other apps. Modelers can tweak models and animators, scene setups etc...can do their work.

I LOVE being able to so easily access points and polys. I do like some of Modo's methods in this area too (I play with a trial every time they come out with a new version). But it just doesn't feel the same in many ways.

Love the easy to develop textures/surfaces in LW. I use Octane now and it's implementation is very easy too.

We don't do a lot of animation per say, so instances and camera movement is about all we do in Layout. I love the instancing we have and how easy it is, but this too as far as I know is pretty robust in other packages.

We use LWCAD quite a bit, love the tools they have brought to modeler. Not sure what we would have done without it 5-6 years ago. Probably would have jumped ship back then...

Things I hope get better in NEXT, coming 2020 :)

Snapping native in modeler/layout
Interface that can be customized, similar to Modo. Expandable, movable tabs etc..etc..
We have moved to Octane, but would love an update to the native engine.
Not sure what else at the moment, we are easy to please, until we see something innovative that makes us go "huh!" :)

Love Lightwave!

Nicolas Jordan
09-06-2017, 09:36 AM