PDA

View Full Version : Former Aura users now with Mirage using DFX?

apex
12-20-2003, 04:39 AM
I was curious if there was anyone in the community who did the LW8 upgrade with DFX+, who used to use Aura but switched to Mirage when Aura was dropped and now uses DFX+ and Mirage together? The reason I ask is because of what the LW/Aura pipeline was going to be with Aura 2.5b before it was dropped and DFX became a bonus bundle with the upgrade to 8. It seems to me that DFX+ is similar to Premiere and Mirage is similair to After Effects. DFX and Mirage seem to be very different in what they offer inside. I have seen many people who use Premiere and AE together in their workflow and was wondering if DXF and Mirage is a similar workflow? I guess the bottom line question is, is it worth owning both? I am downloading the demo of Mirage and DFX is on its way, but I have no experience or knowledge of making anims or movies yet, but plan to soon so please, talk to me like I'm a 6 year old. Thanks.

kenrem

Aegis
12-21-2003, 06:35 AM
I think DFX+ and Mirage is a killer combo (I have both) - DFX+ is great for hard-core compositing but Mirage nicely fits the bill for less complex compositing - much simpler and far more intuitive. Of course the volumetric effects and particle system along with the incredibly powerful FX stack come in handy too ;) I find I use Mirage a lot more on a day-to-day basis than DFX+ even though it's a great tool.

My entire toolset is based around VT[3], LightWave, Mirage and DFX+ and with them I can handle just about any job that comes across my desk...

apex
12-21-2003, 07:44 AM