PDA

View Full Version : NDI Scan Converter on Start-Up?



exsimdave
08-24-2017, 08:12 AM
Hi folks,

I'm trying to set up a bit of an odd usage of NDI. We've been using the tools for eSports production for a while and they are great, but I have just moved some equipment around and I'm trying to use Scan Converter as a network monitor to do away with a local screen for a VR simulator. So, what I'm trying to do is to get Scan Converter to load and send the desktop immediately on boot. Does anyone know if this is possible?

Thanks,

Dave

SBowie
08-24-2017, 08:25 AM
One way to do that would be to use the Windows Task Scheduler.

kanep
08-24-2017, 09:42 AM
Or put a shortcut to it in the Windows Startup folder?

Open an Explorer window and type 'shell:common startup' (no quotes) in the path bar to get to the correct location on the system.

exsimdave
08-25-2017, 04:04 AM
Hi Kanep,

Thanks, yes we've got Scan Converter starting up no problem - however, it needs to be told to select the Desktop before it will send any output...

kanep
08-25-2017, 08:35 AM
Doesn't it remember the selections it last used?

fgolman
08-25-2017, 02:42 PM
I just tried it and it did remember it for me ...

Fritz Golman
Museum of Broadcast Communications

Joaosantos
08-31-2017, 03:23 PM
I use that on task scheduler. I have discover that we have to open first to make the settings correct, exit and reboot. I use that in many computers.

rbotman
03-02-2018, 10:55 AM
Bumping this thread to further the discussion of configuring the settings on Scan Converter.

In my experience Scan Converter doesn't save its settings between launches/reboots. I'd love to learn that there are command line options for the settings, which would allow me to use the Startup folder or Task Scheduler (on Windows) to automatically launch my desired configuration.

If Scan Converter is retaining its settings between reboots, are those settings saved in the registry? In the hidden app data file Application.Network.ScanConverter.dat (win10: users\*\AppData\Local/NewTek)?