PDA

View Full Version : Help me become smooth!

amirispop
12-20-2003, 12:05 AM
No actually I have a problem smoothin out some polygons. I could've experimented with the smoothing tool or the Magnet or maybe dragnet, but then again I'm a noob and I want results now.

That being said, here is the problem.

amirispop
12-20-2003, 12:17 AM
Now my question is how do I model the corner so that it is smooth and flows from the left to the front. In the perspective view, the model shows a bulge on the corner. I don't want the bulge. I want it to be smooth.

I started with a box primitive and added a radius to it and some segments to smooth the corner out. Is that the wrong way to start what I was trying to do...which is a keyboard.

here is the intended idea.
Oxygen 8 (http://www.digitraxx.com/hwmkoxygen8.html)

here is what i am asking for.

p.s. I need to do this to all the corners on the y axis(heading straight up and down.) so I guess the fix will need to be able to be applied in the "top" viewport.

Thanks.

riki
12-20-2003, 04:10 AM
I would probably use Subpatches for this kind of object.

In any case your mesh is too dense. Try turning smoothing on in the properties panel and use less polys.

amirispop
12-20-2003, 11:04 AM
I guess when you say you would just use sub patches, you mean select the polygon in question and click subpatch.

I'm still reading the manual, my problem is that I get side tracked and get an idea for something and start working on it or at least try.

When you say that the mesh is too dense, do you mean that along the corner there are too many polys? I'm reducing them if that is the case. Some of the segments I decided that I needed during pre-design. I thought it would be easier than using the knife to cut polygons. Like I said, when I started I clicked the box primative and just added those segments on x,y, and z axis and the radius.