PDA

View Full Version : Diamond Render

jimiclaybrooks
07-21-2017, 12:19 PM
Hey guys, I've been online looking for any tuts on how to render a diamond using the dielectric node. Since I'm new to the node editor, I need some help with this. There's a blender tutorial that talks about the prism effect that diamonds have, and their refractive quality, which is
what I'm after in Lightwave. As you can see here, my render looks too much like glass, and I'm not understanding why. 137430 Can anyone point me in the right direction? thanks.

Iaian7
07-22-2017, 12:32 PM
Unfortunately the Dialectric node doesn't include a dispersion option. You can use the Reflection/Refraction nodes to build your own setup, however, and enable dispersion that way (it's a percentage setting just below blur).

jimiclaybrooks
07-22-2017, 12:56 PM
thanks for that insight, much appreciated. I'll certainly give it a try.

Iaian7
07-22-2017, 01:21 PM
Well, I was totally wrong (I checked before replying, and still completely missed it). The Dielectric node DOES have dispersion, and to use the setting you need to add some amount of surface roughness. Any amount, even 0.1% works, then you can add as much dispersion as you want.

In the Basic tab:

In the Advanced tab:

prometheus
07-22-2017, 01:58 PM
Well, I was totally wrong (I checked before replying, and still completely missed it). The Dielectric node DOES have dispersion, and to use the setting you need to add some amount of surface roughness. Any amount, even 0.1% works, then you can add as much dispersion as you want.

In the Basic tab:

In the Advanced tab:

Thatīs what I thought :)
Also..do not have roughness set to zero, it needs a bit of roughness, the higher roughness the more softer blurred refractions, also try set a high amount of refractions blur to see it kick in properly, then tune down.

Iaian7
07-22-2017, 02:27 PM