PDA

View Full Version : Please Help; Computer resolution converted to the TV WORLD



Russhill
07-14-2017, 08:58 AM
Hello everyone,
We have a Tricaster 460. I would like to walk up to ANY computer and use it as a source on my Tricaster. We are starting to see more request for presentations using PowerPoint's and are finding it very difficult to get the computer's resolution into the TV world. Is the only answer a scaler or scan converter? What equipment do I need to do this easily for any computer on our campus with out having to be the admin for the computer?
How you all doing this?
What equipment do I need?
we trying to get from 1400x900 to 720p or 1080i
turning down the resolution of the computer is not an option

Thanks for the help.
Russ

SBowie
07-14-2017, 09:54 AM
If your TriCaster supports NDI (most do), NDI scan Converter is your friend.

spaulsen
07-14-2017, 01:44 PM
https://www.newtek.com/connect/spark/ is also an option.

Russhill
07-14-2017, 02:15 PM
Thanks for the suggestion SBowie. How do I know if our Tricaster supports NDI? IS there someplace I can look or a test I can do without buy an $80 box and find out it does not work?

Russhill
07-14-2017, 02:25 PM
thanks spaulsen. will this take a computer input resolution for 1400x900 and make it a SDI input on my tricaster?

SBowie
07-14-2017, 02:27 PM
Most TriCasters do, back to version 2-6. You should be able to connect an NDI input from NDI Scan Converter running on your laptop to one of your Net inputs.