PDA

View Full Version : Script for Setting Surface Textures



Dakota Joe
06-25-2017, 04:42 PM
Does anyone know of a script or plug in that will set surface textures in Layout? I have Alembic characters importing into Layout and I have to manually point all of the texture files in Surface Editor. I have a text file of all the surfaces and the name of the .png files.

I can do coding if someone has a script to get me started in the right direction.

gar26lw
06-25-2017, 05:32 PM
No, sorry I don know of anything but I am surprised you got textures out. What software are you exporting alembic from?

I tried this with maya and had no luck with surface data and textures.

Dakota Joe
06-25-2017, 06:33 PM
I'm getting it out of the new iClone 7. It exports Alembic with diffuse, spec, bump and transparency textures for each item of clothing and the characters. It also creates a .ini file with all the file names for each texture. It takes a while to manually set them all.

Need a way to auto load the info from the .ini file. Anyone have the basics to access the Surface Editor via a script?