PDA

View Full Version : Installed 2.0.140405 - still showing its 2.0.170324



dhodlick
06-13-2017, 08:26 AM
This has been an issue since May - there's another thread about it in this subforum where a user is having the same problem.

Are there any updates or guidance that we should be aware of from NewTek?

I noticed that my Skype TX client on our VS4000 said there was an update.
http://i.imgur.com/q8o9nsal.jpg

Downloaded and installed update.
http://i.imgur.com/l8wo5ucl.jpg

Checked the Talkshow version
http://i.imgur.com/zqDN1aQl.jpg?1

Noticed there was also an update from 170324 to 170405. Quit Talkshow, installed update.
http://i.imgur.com/W6Y4lJil.jpg

Update completed successfully. PC shut down. Flicked it back on. Booted. Checked version on Talkshow software:
http://i.imgur.com/AZq9gNAl.jpg

No change. I am still getting the notice through Skype TX that an update is available. (Brings up another question - where is the 'version management tab'?
http://i.imgur.com/zeX29wBl.jpg

Zane Condren
06-13-2017, 11:34 AM
This will be fixed in the next release of Talkshow software.

SBowie
06-13-2017, 12:39 PM
For what it's worth, I've more or less replicated your experience. Skype TX showed a notification that there was a newer version available. I downloaded the newest version, installed it, rebooted, and re-launched Skype TX, only to find that the update notification flag had not been reset. This is clearly a problem in the Microsoft Skype TX application. The version number shown in the Skype TX About box shows the software is in fact 2.17.601.4, which is the most recent version shown on their download site. It seems likely Microsoft must have been told about this by now, but I've asked QA to report it directly to Microsoft in case it hasn't.

Regarding the failure of the TalkShow application to report the new version number after it was (separately) updated: coincidentally, this seems to have been a similar issue (not updating the version info after an update). My impression is that it has been fixed, but I'm not sure an updated build has been released. For the moment, I think you're safe to assume that if you've updated, you're good.

SBowie
06-13-2017, 02:44 PM
Just to update this a little further, it's slightly more complicated than I wrote previously. The SkypeTX Control application can require not just one, but two distinct software updates. Both types provide 'update available' type notifications, and it's not a difficult thing to confuse these.

Specifically, the main application will show a small 'banner-style' notification when a new version is available, as it did in my case this morning. Having updated to the most recent version of the control application, I expected that 'flag' to be removed. It was not, but when I manually dismissed it, it never came back.

Beyond this, there is another software component of this application that relates to its communication with individual connected channels. You might think of this as a driver, though I gather that's not entirely a true representation. This component, too, shows a notification in Skype TX when a newer version is available. In the image below, note that my second connected channel shows an orange 'bang' (!) near the top. The tooltip for this bang reads similarly to the other message, but is slightly different on close inspection.

To deal with this bang, click the Download gadget in the footer of the column. This reveals the "Give another version a try (you can always go back)" message below the thumbnail monitor in mid-column. In my screengrab, notice there is another download gadget next to the new version number (2.17.513.1) below the thumbnail-size monitor. Clicking this will perform this secondary version update for this one channel only. This seems to allow for different versions to be used with individual channels (possibly as required to communicate with devices of varying generations, etc.)

I realize this is a bit complicated, and I only got to this point with help from QA - hope it helps you, too.

137072

dhodlick
06-14-2017, 05:54 AM
Thanks Steve and Zane. I also submitted a bug-report and true to NewTek form, they got back to me the same day. They walked me through the steps you listed above to deal with the per-channel exclamation mark and all is good on that front. I came here this AM to post their instructions but y'all beat me to it!

Matsu
06-29-2017, 11:26 AM
Skype on iPhone has similer problem from 2 days ago.

CTL Creative
08-16-2017, 12:50 PM
I have the same problem.
Also i get error "d3dx9_43dll is missing".
The maximum output of Skype TX is still maximum 1280x 720 pixels.
It seems that Skype TX doen't support full HD.
I hope microsoft will enable full HD 1920 x 1080 before IBC show Amsterdam in september.