PDA

View Full Version : ArchViz: Transparent Windows or Not

Nicolas Jordan
06-09-2017, 12:04 PM
I have been creating Arch Viz renderings for over 10 years now and have always made the windows of the buildings I render only reflective with No transparency. I always do my renderings like this to save extra work but I'm finding transparent windows in Arch Viz renderings seem to be the norm now. Another reason I don't have transparent windows on my renderings is because in a typical daytime rendering the difference is minimal and not very noticeable unless your doing dusk lighting with the interior fully lit. The only difference I tend to see in a standard daytime rendering with transparent windows is the curtains or blinds showing a few inches behind the glass.

Even with these subtle differences I feel some pressure to bring my renderings up to snuff in this area. I'm just curious what others who create Arch Viz renderings for a living think about this topic. How important is this subtle effect? Do you find clients notice these kinds of added details?

djwaterman
06-09-2017, 02:18 PM
I have been creating Arch Viz renderings for over 10 years now and have always made the windows of the buildings I render only reflective with No transparency. I always do my renderings like this to save extra work but I'm finding transparent windows in Arch Viz renderings seem to be the norm now. Another reason I don't have transparent windows on my renderings is because in a typical daytime rendering the difference is minimal and not very noticeable unless your doing dusk lighting with the interior fully lit. The only difference I tend to see in a standard daytime rendering with transparent windows is the curtains or blinds showing a few inches behind the glass.