PDA

View Full Version : IMAGE cache



vonpietro
06-08-2017, 10:39 AM
something created a direcotry in my project dir called imagecache and so far it's 4gbs

anyone know what in lightwave would create a huge cache like that there is 4520 files.

the file names are labeled -
imagecacheflielayout_layout201526_#.icache where # is incrimenting numer
it goes up to 4520 so far

safe to erase?

know what in lw is makeing that?

I have turbulance fd - but have not used it for this project yet.

Markc
06-08-2017, 12:00 PM
Turbulence uses .bcf files.
Seems very bizarre, if you look at the time they where created, could you narrow it down to a particular task you where performing.

Just googled it, and on Renderosity forums someone had the same file extension from Poser, following calculation of Indirect Lighting calc.

Do you have any plugins that may do this?

magiclight
06-08-2017, 01:36 PM
I would think you have enabled the image cache at the bottom of the Preferences (O) "Gen" tab in Layout.

Greenlaw
06-08-2017, 02:41 PM
LightWave uses the Image Cache to offload some of the space used by images in RAM. In theory, this frees up your RAM for other things LightWave may need it for. Naturally, it also slows things down a little because LightWave needs to read/write from the drive.

Personally, I leave this feature disabled. I think you only need it if you keep running out of RAM in LightWave.

As far as what to do with the files currently in there, I say purge them. If you're not sure, back the files up elsewhere, delete them, and see what happens.

vonpietro
06-08-2017, 08:24 PM
green law - thanks - were is it that i can disable that?

ah - ok in the preferences with gen on the bottom - got it.

thanks guys !!

magiclight
06-09-2017, 03:27 AM
It does not work very well anyway, even if all images fit in the cache it will slow down the rendering a lot.