PDA

View Full Version : Is it legal to make a lego movie ?

rednova
05-29-2017, 07:08 PM
Would it be legal to make a lego movie, if I use original characters and costumes ?
Or do I need permission from the lego toy makers ?

ernpchan
05-29-2017, 08:05 PM
I think as long as you don't promote and market it as being an official Lego movie and make money off it you are probably ok. It's probably not that different than fan pieces on YouTube.

But I'm not a lawyer so don't rely on this as legal advice. :hey:

pinkmouse
05-29-2017, 10:23 PM
Why would you want to? Lego has been "done".

djwaterman
05-30-2017, 12:53 AM
It's totally legal to go ahead and make a Lego movie, but then you can be hit with lawsuits once it's out there, and they will have a case. I just finished up on a movie where a main character spends half the movie wearing a T-shirt with Mickey mouse on it, and a considerable amount of FX money and time went into digitally removing this very prominent wardrobe decision. That's a lot of wasted resources on an effect that will not only be invisible, but was unimportant to the story. Also, a very complicated procedure, possibly the most complicated post effects in the film yet these will be effect shots that will not amaze the audience or even be noticed. That being said, there is a lot of Lego animation on-line, a whole community of stop motion fans of Lego have been doing this stuff before the big movies came out. You have to be careful about "Branding", and the name "Lego" is probably off limits for a start.

MichaelT
05-30-2017, 03:12 AM
They no longer have a patent.. and they have also lost trademarks over the bricks.. so yeah. I think it is quite legal. The lego brand name is another matter however. But send them an email... depending on what you are doing.. I'm sure they would be happy to work something out with you. So you can have their brand name in there.

50one
05-30-2017, 03:26 AM
You should aim higher and make next Avatar.

gerry_g