PDA

View Full Version : FiberFX Swirl doesn't work with animated objects



Boris Goreta
05-29-2017, 08:24 AM
Swirl is used to make curly hair and it works on a static object but if I try to animate it using LW bones or MDD swirl doesn't work properly any more. I think it is because normals that fibers swirl around are not being updated when the object is being deformed. I have included project files, one with MDD animation and one with bones animation to illustrate the problem. There are also two example images which show how fibers change shape from the start to the end frame. Please help !

erikals
05-29-2017, 05:00 PM
no idea,
did you change the subd value?
is the preview subd amount and the render subd amount the same value?
also check subd order.

seems like a bug?

Boris Goreta
05-29-2017, 05:07 PM
Subdivision is not used so this is what you get when you render also. I reported a similar bug with splay a couple of years ago but it seems they still didn't fix it. I thought someone knows a workaround.

I am amazed that in 3 years no one ever made an animation with splay or swirl functions and didn't notice this bug.

jwiede
05-29-2017, 05:15 PM
I am amazed that in 3 years no one ever made an animation with splay or swirl functions and didn't notice this bug.

More likely, it was encountered, but the users either couldn't isolate those params as probable cause, or did but didn't publicly discuss it.

erikals
05-29-2017, 05:21 PM
it might be related to this bug?

Fiber FX - Weird behavior
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?153059-Fiber-FX-Weird-behavior

Boris Goreta
05-29-2017, 05:42 PM
Yes that is the same thing I am having problems with.

Dodgy
05-29-2017, 06:14 PM
I usually use a texture in the Bump channel because of the problem with swirl and some of the other settings.

Boris Goreta
05-29-2017, 06:51 PM
But you can't make curly fur using bump.

safarifx
11-27-2017, 05:29 AM
Swirl is used to make curly hair and it works on a static object but if I try to animate it using LW bones or MDD swirl doesn't work properly any more. I think it is because normals that fibers swirl around are not being updated when the object is being deformed. I have included project files, one with MDD animation and one with bones animation to illustrate the problem. There are also two example images which show how fibers change shape from the start to the end frame. Please help !

click it...there is no bug if you rendered it with octane.

https://youtu.be/k0KuNYLsEz4

snip safx

gar26lw
11-27-2017, 06:41 AM
why would that be, i wonder?

Norka
11-27-2017, 07:11 AM
safarifx, I had never realized you are LightWaveGuru until just now! You rock! And your bear is bada$$! He can sh!t not only in the woods, but anywhere he damn well pleases!...

For all of you doomsayers around here, look at what Boris and safarifx/LightWaveGuru are making with LW!.. all effing day long, every day, while you ninnies whine about LWNext, and lack of comms from LW3DG... Go make 3D art yo!

safarifx
11-27-2017, 07:33 AM
safarifx, I had never realized you are LightWaveGuru until just now! You rock! And your bear is bada$$! He can sh!t not only in the woods, but anywhere he damn well pleases!...

For all of you doomsayers around here, look at what Boris and safarifx/LightWaveGuru are making with LW!.. all effing day long, every day, while you ninnies whine about LWNext, and lack of comms from LW3DG... Go make 3D art yo!


oh sh+t ! my camouflage has been revealed! :)

snip safx

safarifx
11-27-2017, 11:29 PM
FFX small talk part 2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiRd5NknS7g

snip safx

Boris Goreta
01-02-2018, 01:10 PM
This bug has not been fixed in version 2018, well let's give them 3 more years, maybe it happens.

sudac20
01-02-2018, 02:44 PM
Fiber FX is terrible, I can't believe they have not updated the setup process. Why update your hair shaders and not touch the clunky setup process, anyone getting any decent hair animation results in 2018?

Boris Goreta
01-02-2018, 03:11 PM
I think they updated hair rendering part so you should get nicely rendered animations now.

erikals
01-02-2018, 07:46 PM
This bug has not been fixed in version 2018, well let's give them 3 more years, maybe it happens.

strange, according to this thread/reply, it was fixed >

read Maurocor's comment
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?153059-Fiber-FX-Weird-behavior&p=1528201&viewfull=1#post1528201

Boris Goreta
01-02-2018, 07:56 PM
If you mean this scene: http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?153059-Fiber-FX-Weird-behavior&p=1524879&viewfull=1#post1524879

then no, it has not been fixed.

MichaelT
01-02-2018, 08:00 PM
Then use the feedback tool and report the bug. Especially since it seems they moved to act on bugs quicker :) (They responded to my reports within a day)

erikals
01-02-2018, 08:25 PM
i'd advice to file an additional bug report
the more of us that do, the higher chance there is of a fix

https://i.imgur.com/5jEi2Ve.png

Boris Goreta
01-14-2018, 01:59 PM
The 2018.0.1 version has this bug listed as fixed, let's find out ...

Boris Goreta
01-14-2018, 02:06 PM
It has been fixed ! Good job ! Now I go and buy version 2018 !

jeric_synergy
01-14-2018, 02:30 PM
Well done, LWG.

erikals
01-14-2018, 03:14 PM
Awesomeness!  :king: :king:

MAUROCOR
01-14-2018, 05:18 PM
Finally!

Kryslin
01-14-2018, 09:06 PM
One side note : Don't use the parametric shapes on nulls and have FiberFX in the scene as well. At some point, the combination will cause LW to crash. And yes, it has been reported.

jboudreau
01-15-2018, 03:44 PM
One side note : Don't use the parametric shapes on nulls and have FiberFX in the scene as well. At some point, the combination will cause LW to crash. And yes, it has been reported.

I think I found out the issue why this is happening, Check this out:

2018 primitive objects with Fiber is using a different FFX panel compared to 2018.0.1

2018 panel on the left says Max Fiber Density (Which itís looking for a percentage) and in 2018.0.1 It says Fiber Quantity which is looking for a number not a percentage which is probably why itís crashing

2018 panel on left says Relax Ė 2018.0.1 Panel on right says Guide Radius

139459

Also if you go to open up the furytail.lws scene in the 2018 content folder it will crash. I've reported both issues

Hope this helps.

Thanks,
Jason

jboudreau
01-15-2018, 04:52 PM
One side note : Don't use the parametric shapes on nulls and have FiberFX in the scene as well. At some point, the combination will cause LW to crash. And yes, it has been reported.

Hi On the scene you were using that crashed was your FiberFX Guides on your model merged as one continuous mesh or were they separate?

here is a photo below for reference to what I mean

139460

Thanks,
Jason

Kryslin
01-15-2018, 10:59 PM
Layered; One layer for procedural fur, and 2 seperate layers for different bits of hair. LW Devs got the scene in question with my bug report.
One thing I do like is using splines for guides instead of 2 pt poly chains. While I realize that feature has been around for a while, it's now very fast.

Also - is anyone else experiencing UI lag when FiberFX is active? I'm getting delays of 10-15 seconds trying to update settings when FFX is active in the scene...

MAUROCOR
01-16-2018, 02:55 AM
Also - is anyone else experiencing UI lag when FiberFX is active? I'm getting delays of 10-15 seconds trying to update settings when FFX is active in the scene...

Yes, it is happening. Depending the amount of layers you have it can takes for ever. Even if you disable FiberFX temporarily.

BeeVee
01-16-2018, 04:00 AM
I think I found out the issue why this is happening, Check this out:

2018 primitive objects with Fiber is using a different FFX panel compared to 2018.0.1

2018 panel on the left says Max Fiber Density (Which it’s looking for a percentage) and in 2018.0.1 It says Fiber Quantity which is looking for a number not a percentage which is probably why it’s crashing

2018 panel on left says Relax – 2018.0.1 Panel on right says Guide Radius

139459

Also if you go to open up the furytail.lws scene in the 2018 content folder it will crash. I've reported both issues

Hope this helps.

Thanks,
Jason

I don't see this in my 2018.0.1? For me, the panel says exactly the same as it did in 2018.

B

jboudreau
01-16-2018, 06:18 AM
I don't see this in my 2018.0.1? For me, the panel says exactly the same as it did in 2018.

B

The different panel show up depending on how you have your FiberFX guides in modeler.

If you have FFX guides or strands merged to the object then you see one FFX panel

If you have FFX guides separate from your object they you see a different FFX panel

You can test this by using the FuryTail.lws scene in your 2018 content folder. Open Tail_Mixed_New.lwo and select the polygon and expand your selection you will see it's all one object. Now
open the scene in 2018.0 not 2018.0.1 (Because it crashes in that version) click on the null and click on options it will open the FFX panel.

Now open the Tail_Mixed_New.lwo and use the polygon statistics and just copy the fiber polygons, cut them and then paste them. This will separate the FFX strands from the object. Now save the object over the other one. Now open the scene again and click on the null and click options you will now see a different FFX panel (which now sasy Fiber Quantity instead of Fiber Density.

I'm going to have to make a video because the bug is really hard to explain

Thanks,
Jason

Kryslin
01-16-2018, 09:57 AM
Maurocor : Ah, nice to know it's not me. Perhaps something that can be worked on?

JBoudreau : I don't think it's a bug - When FFX sees guides (either 2 pt polychains or splines), it shows one set of settings, and shows the procedural fur settings for when it doesn't. It's been doing that since 9.6. Ideally, FFX should have an option that allows us to say "Use guides on this instance" or " Use procedural fur on this instance".

jboudreau
01-16-2018, 10:02 AM
Maurocor : Ah, nice to know it's not me. Perhaps something that can be worked on?

JBoudreau : I don't think it's a bug - When FFX sees guides (either 2 pt polychains or splines), it shows one set of settings, and shows the procedural fur settings for when it doesn't. It's been doing that since 9.6. Ideally, FFX should have an option that allows us to say "Use guides on this instance" or " Use procedural fur on this instance".

So are you saying it shows two different FFX panels? I don't think this is what I'm referring too but maybe.

I'm going to make a video showing the issue, Ill be posting it later today

Thanks,
Jason

jwiede
01-16-2018, 11:10 AM
FFX UX still trying to be much too clever, and failing, when it should be much more explicit instead (f.e. about guides' presence, type, etc.).

bazsa73
01-16-2018, 12:13 PM
FFX UX still trying to be much too clever, and failing, when it should be much more explicit instead (f.e. about guides' presence, type, etc.).

Anyways, FFX 2018 is a whole lot more reliable than it used to be and the render quality is superb compared to earlier versions.

jboudreau
01-16-2018, 03:26 PM
Maurocor : Ah, nice to know it's not me. Perhaps something that can be worked on?

JBoudreau : I don't think it's a bug - When FFX sees guides (either 2 pt polychains or splines), it shows one set of settings, and shows the procedural fur settings for when it doesn't. It's been doing that since 9.6. Ideally, FFX should have an option that allows us to say "Use guides on this instance" or " Use procedural fur on this instance".

Okay I tested this on Lightwave 2015 and yes you are right, I never noticed that before, With that said though if I do this in 2018 the fiber quantity does not work and it crashes if I go to render it. same thing happens in 2018.01. If have the guides where Fiber Density comes up then 2018 renders no problem. But in 2018.01 the scene will not even open it just crashes on loading the scene.

You can see what I mean by just trying to load furrytail.lws in 2018.01 from the content folder. Here is a video showing the crash, it opens fine in 2018.0


https://youtu.be/zRz6tzEICV4

Thanks,
Jason

MAUROCOR
01-16-2018, 05:54 PM
Okay I tested this on Lightwave 2015 and yes you are right, I never noticed that before, With that said though if I do this in 2018 the fiber quantity does not work and it crashes if I go to render it. same thing happens in 2018.01. If have the guides where Fiber Density comes up then 2018 renders no problem. But in 2018.01 the scene will not even open it just crashes on loading the scene.

You can see what I mean by just trying to load furrytail.lws in 2018.01 from the content folder. Here is a video showing the crash, it opens fine in 2018.0


https://youtu.be/zRz6tzEICV4

Thanks,
Jason

Have already reported this problem?

jwiede
01-17-2018, 04:42 PM
Anyways, FFX 2018 is a whole lot more reliable than it used to be and the render quality is superb compared to earlier versions.

Finding a reliable crash-to-desktop (read as: severe, risking user data loss) regression from 2018.0 to 2018.0.1 on released sample FFX content (read as: content Newtek had readily available for testing) is hardly a recommendation for overall FFX quality (or for the thoroughness of 2018.0.1's testing).

- - - Updated - - -


But in 2018.01 the scene will not even open it just crashes on loading the scene.

Reliably reproducible and confirmed on Mac LW2018.0.1 (on macOS 10.13.2). Ugh.

MAUROCOR
01-17-2018, 05:33 PM
Guys, in your account there is a FFX hotfix plugin to fix the problem. Just dowload and replace it.

erikals
01-17-2018, 05:43 PM
Cool. i'm very glad they are giving FiberFX fixes attention.