PDA

View Full Version : Weird issue while parenting in Layout

Over
05-15-2017, 04:27 PM
Hi all,

At least weird to me, as Im still learning.:D

See the picture.

Yesterday while parenting bone 2 to bone 1 in layout, bone 2 was aligning all the way up as shown in the picture, which was not the result I expected or wanted.

After a few attempts to understand why that was happening I decided to quit and try today. To my surprise, today I can parent anything without that strange aligning happening, they just stay where they are.

Can someone explain why that was happening?

RudySchneider
05-15-2017, 05:04 PM
The primary purpose of parenting is so that the "child" will follow the motion actions --- translation, rotation --- of the parent. It does NOT automatically align the child to the parent. It's up to you to initially anchor the parent-child relationship.

Consider a helicopter blade. You locate it on the engine shaft and parent it in position. Then, the blade can rotate around and "follow" the engine --- which is parented to the helicopter body --- shaft around.

And when it comes to bones, have you tried "resting?"

Over
05-15-2017, 06:36 PM
Sorry, but I dont know what resting is yet.

The thing is that the bone was moving up (the original position was down, within the geometry), like the picture show, but today nothing of that is happening, you can parent the bone to the other and it doesnt move. Maybe I had some option active I was not aware of?

jeric_synergy
05-15-2017, 06:46 PM