PDA

View Full Version : Multi-Thread In General and Specifically Bullet



bradl
03-08-2017, 04:19 PM
Quick question about multi-threading. I'm running LW 2015 on PC with a Dual Xeon E5 with 32 CPU (logical processors). I have been on a Mac for years prior to this. Seems like whenever things get real slow I look at the CPU usage and only one CPU out of 32 is pegged. What the heck. Maybe it's just what I am doing at the time, I'll keep an eye on it. Right now I am running Bullet and waiting for "Simulating Dynamics" and it is crawling on not too complex of a fractured object. I have TWO Nvidia Quadro K5200's. Is there some tweaking I should do or is it just what it is, some things are multi-thread some not?

(*I moved this question out of another LW Community thread instead of hijacking theirs)

Thanks for any replys!

Sensei
03-08-2017, 06:18 PM
I have TWO Nvidia Quadro K5200's.

Fracture/Bullet does not use GPU AFAIK..

magiclight
03-09-2017, 04:52 AM
Bullet is not multithreaded as far as I know in the version that is used in LW, they did add some GPU (OpenCL) support though in the later versions ( http://bulletphysics.org/wordpress/?p=340 ) so I guess it will be one day.