PDA

View Full Version : Can any device sending video over the network be pulled into the Tricaster?



RileyM
03-03-2017, 11:54 AM
We have these security cameras around our arena that are IP cameras. If I get the network guy to run the cameras through the same part of the network that the Tricaster is on, will it pull in that video feed?

SBowie
03-03-2017, 01:12 PM
Just to offer a couple of points - some NewTek devices do support connecting inputs to streaming output of various devices ... but not all. This is not necessarily related to NDI in any way, as these devices typically supply video (H.264 or MPEG2) as RTSP. At this moment, there are no cameras directly supplying NDI.

That latter point matters, because not only is NDI low latency, but more importantly in this context, an H.264 stream (for example)
The better way to do this, to relieve TriCaster of the resource burden of decompressing a bunch of H.264 streams, would be to use NDI Connect running on another system to convert these sources to NDI for use by NDI-enabled devices on the network (such as but not limited to TriCaster).

RileyM
03-03-2017, 03:27 PM
I don't follow all of the terminology completely but I think I understand.
I need to run a video feed through a computer first, so it can translate it to "NDI", and then onto the network and into my Tricaster 460AE.

SBowie
03-03-2017, 04:38 PM
That would be preferred. Running AE v.1, but not v.2, I believe you can directly access some cameras with rtsp output, but I wouldn't recommend connecting more than one or two this way for the reasons mentioned before. One fine day, someone is going to produce a ptz camera with NDI output, control and PP all over the one cable ...and the angels will sing. :)

livepad
03-04-2017, 08:07 AM
We have these security cameras around our arena that are IP cameras. If I get the network guy to run the cameras through the same part of the network that the Tricaster is on, will it pull in that video feed?

Assuming they are H.264 RTSP IP cameras, I suspect that simply selecting these devices via NewTek Connect is what you are looking for - it should convert them to NDI

SBowie
03-04-2017, 09:52 AM
One other possibility worth mentioning: If they are Panasonic cameras, you can use the free Panasonic Autolink software to present them to TriCaster as NDI, without needing the Connect application.

Pelkon
03-04-2017, 12:08 PM
where can I find a free version of Autolink ?

kanep
03-04-2017, 04:24 PM
Available for a limited time.

http://info.panasonic.com/ptz-camera.html

Here is a video I found discussing all of this as well. https://www.bigmarker.com/panasonic/autolink

Red Dog Records
03-04-2017, 07:22 PM
One fine day, someone is going to produce a ptz camera with NDI output, control and PP all over the one cable ...and the angels will sing. :)

Any chance we can expect a chorus of angels at NAB?

SBowie
03-04-2017, 09:09 PM
Any chance we can expect a chorus of angels at NAB?
It's Vegas, I'm sure you can count on a chorus line or two...not so sure they'll be angelic though.

Pelkon
03-05-2017, 10:35 AM
Available for a limited time.

http://info.panasonic.com/ptz-camera.html

Here is a video I found discussing all of this as well. https://www.bigmarker.com/panasonic/autolink

Thanks