PDA

View Full Version : Artistic Feedback desired

unstable
02-12-2017, 10:22 AM
My original idea was to have this old garden shed sitting next to a field with the morning sun rising behind it with sun beams filtering through the boards providing ambient light within the shed to see the tools. Since I'm having all sorts of problems creating an environment like that, I ended up with this. But there is something missing even from the model itself. Seems like there should be something (a wheelbarrow, rock, etc) behind the broken door. Or a fence perhaps. So I thought I'd throw it out there and see what suggestions I might receive for making this a more interesting and pleasant morning image. Thanks

MonroePoteet
02-12-2017, 12:31 PM
I'm no expert, but IMO there's no context for why the toolshed is there. Classical photographic composition has "foreground", "midground" and "background" components to set the context, and while your image has foreground and background components, there's no midground.

Here's an image where I just copy-n-pasted the righthand part of the shed to fake up a tumbledown farmhouse in the midground, blurred it, lightened it a bit and added a bit of "distance blue". Obviously just a quick-n-dirty approach, but to me "fills in" the composition.

Just a thought.

mTp

Ernest
02-12-2017, 03:17 PM