PDA

View Full Version : Curves Freezing…



lasco
12-17-2003, 04:55 AM
HELP NEWTEK
please give us a tool that CONVERTS SPLINES IN 2 POINTS POLYGONS,

DRILLING WITH OPENED CURVES IS A PAIN IN THE MODELER !!!


details HERE (http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=111174)


please c'mon help a bit more us poor little architectural modelers
that have already so much troubles with DXF imports;)

Matt
12-17-2003, 05:33 AM
1) Kill the polys ('k' key)

2) Select points in order

3) Run attached script

lasco
12-17-2003, 05:56 AM
Matt, I'd be glad to try your script
but have troubles to download it,
I only get a "attachment.php" file…

Matt
12-17-2003, 06:45 AM
try right mouse clicking and "save target as..." works for me!

lasco
12-17-2003, 07:19 AM
download does'nt work in IE :(

but work with Netscape :)

unfortunately the script does'nt work

LScript > nothing happens / error message
LScript/RT > it blocks, I have to force the Modeler to quit

(I tried with only 3 points…)

I'm using LW 7.5 / Mac OS X, it should work but…

Matt
12-17-2003, 07:29 AM
Add it as a plugin and give it a button, it's a pretty simple script I'd be amazed if it didn't work on a Mac!

lasco
12-17-2003, 07:46 AM
I putted it in the Plug'ins > Model folder,
then launched the Modeler > Add plug'ins and selected it

The I selected 4 points and did :
Construct > Additional > and launched it

…similar result, it blocks, I must restart Modeler.

evenflcw
12-17-2003, 03:32 PM
I wrote a script a while ago - called it SplineLineConvert. In short it works simular to how you can toggle between polygons/subpatches but for polylines and splines.

You can grab it here:
http://w1.851.telia.com/~u85113006/files/lscripts/splinelineconvert/SplineLineConvert.lsc

There's still probably some minor bugs, and it can't do closed curves, but for the most it works. If you'd like to suggest improvements or report bugs, don't hesitate to drop me a message.

Matt, I think your script is missing some lines, it does an endless loop and will only creates single pointpolys :)

lasco
12-17-2003, 03:55 PM
and it can't do closed curves

I don't care about this as for closed curve you can convert in polys (I mean in faces), my current issue is precisely with OPENED curve so if your script is not too bugged it will save me you can't imagine how many hours !!
just spent ALL this day - it's midnight here in Paris - just converting splines in 2 points polys…!

ok I test this right now

PS = Matt, sorry your ls does'nt work… Pixym also told me it crahses his Modeler on both his Mac (10.3) and PC !
though you did create the best interface that was imaginable for LW (…in our dreams;) )

lasco
12-17-2003, 04:02 PM
ok I tested it.

evenflcw >> am in love with you

evenflcw
12-17-2003, 06:35 PM
Glad you like it. :)

I might make an update if just to iron out the bug(s) and prevent crashing.

Matt
12-18-2003, 02:37 AM
Doh!

I posted the wrong script! It appears I have two scripts to do this, the one I posted isn't the one I'm using!

I think the other script was a generic 'shell' for something else I was doing but never finished.

Apologies!

Matt
12-18-2003, 02:44 AM
here's the one I'm using and it DOES work!!!! :)

lasco
12-18-2003, 04:07 AM
ok I will test it this evening, thanx :)

By the way this is for Matt and evenflcw,
if I dared I'd ask you something I'm not sure is possible :

now I have a solution to convert curves (splines) in 2 points polys
without adding new points. It's good for around 50% of cases
as the splines I get from DXF plans are correct (mean they have
just the count of points needed).
Though it often happens I get curves that are themselves incredibly
heavy, I don't know why and have no way to correct this before importing
as they are on plans I get from my clients, but the fact is that I
have many curves withh hundreds unusefull points…

so if there is a way to convert a curve in 2 points polys AND
to delete just before let's say 1 points on 2 or 2 points on 3…
well it would be fantastic…
any chances one of your scripts is improved in that way ?

PS : anyway thanx again you both helped me much…
If I can in return help you in any way please tell me,
I for example got some good Tree modelisation plug'in
and so if you need a tree or plant on demand please ask :)

Matt
12-18-2003, 04:27 AM
There's a plugin here:

http://www.pictrix.jp/index2.html

called 'Re_Divider' that allows curves to be redrawn using user specified number of points.

The page appears to be down at the moment so here's the plugin, it's free so I don't think he'll mind! (I hope not anyway!)

It's pretty simple, just select two points on the curve to 're-divide', you might have to play with the pick order if it does something odd!

evenflcw
12-18-2003, 05:59 AM
Also have a look at dStorms PathDivider:
http://www.dstorm.co.jp/dslib/pathcut/pathcut.zip

lasco
12-18-2003, 09:21 AM
wow ! one more !!!!

damn' I too much love the web these days :)

OK I'll also try your last one evenflcw…

Matt > I give a clap to your own script
and the other one is fantastic too,
it's a real QEMLoss for splines but with a better control,
being able to set the exact number of points you need is
so great :)

congrats you guys :)

hurley
12-18-2003, 09:59 AM
I've got a little free C plugin called GuideTool that might help you out. It was designed mainly for making guides for Sasquatch so you can:

-convert splines to 2pt poly chains
-convert 2pt poly chains to 2pt poly chains;
-convert 2pt poly chains to splines
-convert splines to splines

You can pick it up at:

http://www.hurleyworks.com

in the downloads section

-Steve

lasco
12-19-2003, 01:17 AM
thanx for info Steve,

…too bad your plugs do not seem to work on Mac OS X :(

Matt
12-19-2003, 02:13 AM
I'd like to take credit but I just modified it to work with the latest lscript, and I needed help with that! (Was my first outing with lscript!)

lasco
12-19-2003, 02:17 AM
? are you talking to me Matt ?
what about ? I'm not sure I get you…

Sensei
12-21-2003, 12:12 AM
The latest Pipe v2.0, not yet released, does the both things at once after you set either Start Radius and End Radius to 0 (in this mode it could be used to quantize curves). And it works with open and closed curves without problems.

http://www.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/Pipe

It's interactive tool therefore every option is controlled by mouse and preview is immediately updated in the real-time.