PDA

View Full Version : Bone hierarchy, basic question about assigning hierarchy



medicalart
02-05-2017, 09:58 AM
Is there a way to have an object use bones of another object? There used to be a button somewhere that simply allowed "use bones from" so you could select another bone hierarchy already in the scene and have the object deform accordingly.

I've made curved line of skelegons, imported into my scene, and I want a snake-like object to deform according to that curve.

I've tried import/export rig, but not getting object to deform.
Any suggestions much appreciated.

ernpchan
02-05-2017, 10:14 AM
Yes, select the object that doesn't have bones, go the Bones mode and hit P to go to the bones properties panel. In the panel is a use bones from pull down. Change it from "self" to the object that has the bones you want to use.

medicalart
02-05-2017, 12:56 PM
Excellent, thanks! I looked all over for that option.