PDA

View Full Version : VLC and NDI



SBowie
02-01-2017, 01:43 PM
The usefulness of VLC (with NDI plugins) in an IP workflow can hardly be overstated. No doubt many have realized that already. We wanted to mention a couple of important points in this connection:



NDI works a lot better in 64-bit than 32-bit (as a ballpark estmiate, it's probably about 4x faster).
VLC media player defaults to a 32 bit installation. It is a pretty good idea to choose the 64bit installation if you want to use NDI.

kanep
02-01-2017, 02:30 PM
Here is a link to the VideoLAN VLC for Windows page. From the drop down you can select the 64-bit installer. From the main page you can only get to the 32-bit version.
http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-windows.html

lukerctv
04-12-2017, 10:54 AM
Anyone else get audio desync issues sometimes when transmitting over NDI via the VLC plugin?

kanep
04-12-2017, 11:06 AM
I use VLC all the time to playback video clips into TriCaster. I've not seen a/v sync issues in that case. What are you trying to play?

lukerctv
04-12-2017, 11:23 AM
I've noticed it mostly when trying to send over live video, say piping something from streamlink (command-line live streaming utility) into VLC.

Plays fine locally, but when I switch it to the NDI output plugin, audio is not in sync on the TriCaster or NDI Monitor.


Streamlink: https://streamlink.github.io/install.html

Test HLS URL: http://cspan1-lh.akamaihd.net/i/[email protected]/index_1000_av-p.m3u8

Command used:
streamlink hls://http://cspan1-lh.akamaihd.net/i/[email protected]/index_1000_av-p.m3u8 best

VLC 64bit 2.2.4

kanep
04-12-2017, 02:14 PM
Just tried this (and cool utility BTW). I'm getting A/V sync using NDI Monitor or my TriCaster (or at least it is so close, I can't see any lip sync issues). Could the computer doing all of this just not keep up? I'm using my laptop with an i7 CPU.

I only tried this for a few seconds. Is the sync off immediately or does it drift after a length of time?

kanep
04-12-2017, 03:30 PM
Playing with this a bit. If you use the -p option you can pass into VLC Player the NDI options for video/audio output and not have to set them as the default for the player. Not that it would make a difference for your sync issue, but does streamline using it.

Example:

streamlink -p "C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe --aout NDI --vout NDI" https://www.twitch.tv/twit best

cherishjoo
04-13-2017, 03:02 AM
Did you try MPC-HC?

kanep
04-13-2017, 07:52 AM
MPC-HC is supported by StreamLink, but there isn't a NDI plug-in for it which is the end goal for the workflow.

lukerctv
04-13-2017, 08:51 AM
It may be drifting too, but on my TriCaster the audio always starts desynced. No frames are ever dropped and there's no choppiness, and the computer running VLC is barely taxed by it. And all Ethernet, of course.

On another note, I've been told by VLC developers that the NDI plugin is not compatible with version 3.0. Is that something that's being worked on?

I ask because 3.0 is the only build that supports SpeedHQ, which was just added to ffmpeg and libavcodec.

SBowie
04-13-2017, 09:48 AM
3.0 doesn't seem to have been released yet. Are you running a beta? Or is it available somewhere non-obvious?

kanep
04-13-2017, 11:33 AM
Here is my laptop using StreamLink to play a live stream from TWIT (using Twitch as the CDN), this is about 10 to 15 minutes after I started the stream. My sync looks good.

StreamLink -> VLC 64-bit (v2.2.4) -> NDI Plug-in -> NDI Monitor

https://youtu.be/xSgZhW70pw4

lukerctv
04-13-2017, 01:33 PM
3.0 is still in pre-release, but its official release is imminent. Here's the roadmap:

https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/roadmap

I'm mostly concerned with it since SpeedHQ will never be supported in previous versions, and SpeedHQ plus the NDI plugin would be killer. Especially since I still can't open SpeedHQ files natively in macOS for whatever reason.

I'm going to have to test the audio sync issue more, but I just used the same C-SPAN URL from my example above, and it was definitely out of sync on my 460. Unfortunately, the Mac version of NDI Monitor isn't reliable enough to diagnose issues like that.

SBowie
04-13-2017, 01:52 PM
I'm told the VLC API is version specific, requires updating the plugin every time (bummer). It'll get done, but maybe not day one ...

lukerctv
08-26-2017, 04:48 PM
Is the NDI 3 Tools VLC plugin not working for anyone else?

Edit: Running VLC as an Administrator might have worked

alonso
08-30-2017, 10:57 PM
Playing with this a bit. If you use the -p option you can pass into VLC Player the NDI options for video/audio output and not have to set them as the default for the player. Not that it would make a difference for your sync issue, but does streamline using it.

Example:

streamlink -p "C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe --aout NDI --vout NDI" https://www.twitch.tv/twit best

Hi
do you have any tutorial how use this tool?
I download the streamlink for windows but not have idea how can configure the vlc :rolleyes:

kanep
10-03-2017, 09:41 PM
Hi
do you have any tutorial how use this tool?
I download the streamlink for windows but not have idea how can configure the vlc :rolleyes:

I don't have a tutorial, but all you need to do is install NDI Tools on the system with VLC Player and Streamlink.

The command line listed above does all of the configuration that you need, it will use Streamlink to start VLC Player with the NDI output active.

reustaquio
10-04-2017, 12:31 PM
Playing with this a bit. If you use the -p option you can pass into VLC Player the NDI options for video/audio output and not have to set them as the default for the player. Not that it would make a difference for your sync issue, but does streamline using it.

Example:

streamlink -p "C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe --aout NDI --vout NDI" https://www.twitch.tv/twit best


Does anyone using NDI conversion like this on linux host ?

kanep
10-04-2017, 02:58 PM
There isn't a NDI plug-in for VLC Player on Linux, so while Streamlink would work, you aren't going to get NDI output from it.

alonso
01-21-2018, 09:15 PM
Hi!
can I Use streamlink with facebook live? i test it with twitch and work fine but when use facebook live i get error message on the connection

kanep
01-22-2018, 09:18 AM
Hi!
can I Use streamlink with facebook live? i test it with twitch and work fine but when use facebook live i get error message on the connection

According to Streamlink, Facebook video is only supported when it is Live and up to 360p resolution.
https://streamlink.github.io/plugin_matrix.html

fauzia
07-12-2019, 12:36 AM
Hello guys, Need alittle help here. my vlc player doesnt seem to get the NDI plugin no matter what i do. iam on version 3.0.7.1 I've tried other versions still the same thing. anyone experienced the same? way foward with this? my laptop has windows 10