PDA

View Full Version : Graphics Card Update

Blade112
01-19-2017, 09:36 PM
Hello Everyone, I'm new to this and I need some help. I have a Mid 2010 Mac Pro and I want to upgrade my Graphics card, I also would like to know if this would reduce my rendering time? If any one can help me with this I would be very grateful.

bazsa73
01-19-2017, 10:59 PM
Hello Everyone, I'm new to this and I need some help. I have a Mid 2010 Mac Pro and I want to upgrade my Graphics card, I also would like to know if this would reduce my rendering time? If any one can help me with this I would be very grateful.

The short answer is no. If you aim for GPU rendering you'd better buy a new rig (PC) with 2-4 Nvidia titan cards. That will reduce your rendering times big time.

MichaelT
01-20-2017, 01:04 AM

It will only reduce your rendering time if your solution allows GPU rendering. Since you ask here, I will assume you are using Octane? Regardless.. If you are able to use it, the GTX 1080 would probably suffice. If you can afford it (and find it, which is easier said than done) then the Titan X pascal (I know, they kept the name for a newer chipset.. really dumb) is easily the faster option. However, the Titan X (pascal) does *not* include the double precision like the previous Titan X supported. If this is important to you, then you need to find the previous version of Titan X.

A good budget version would be the GTX 1070.

Assuming of course that your Apple supports the cards :)

rsfd
01-25-2017, 05:18 AM
Hello Blade112,

as bazsa73 and MichaelT already pointed out, a new GPU will only cut the render times if you are using a GPU-accelerated render engine (Octane, VRay RT, Arion, Maxwell v.4 et al) and a Nvidia graphics card (to my knowledge, every GPU renderer uses Nvidia CUDA so far).
In LightWave, your most obvious advantage will be better frame rates in the viewports and easier handling of larger scenes.