PDA

View Full Version : Help New to Lightwave

Lightwave Noob
12-29-2016, 09:38 AM
Hi, I am new to Lightwave and I am having trouble with switching to this program. I mainly work in Rhino and my boss thought Lightwave would be good to learn so we can start doing our own animations. I work in accident reconstruction so the work has to be accurate. I have had trouble with importing vehicles in at the correct scale and haven't been able to do anything successful to move on to importing the environment. Anything I have learned has been from Googling random Lightwave threads, Youtube or just playing with Lightwave. I have been stuck for the past couple days just trying to get a vehicle's tires to rotate. I followed a turorial on using the Dr Wheel Rotator but for what ever reason the tires wont rotate, with or without the command. Also the models that I have imported to Lightwave often have pieces missing and are a single color. I could use some help on how to import a 3d model and which commands would be good to use. I'm using a trial version right now so I'm not sure if there are any limitations. Thanks.

mummyman
12-29-2016, 10:35 AM
You might want to open Modeler, hit "d" and go into Units panel. Maybe switch to English / feet. Or know how many meters / convertion to use for real-world scales. That's a start for getting the models to the correct size. It's also in Layout under "d" then General.

ernpchan
12-29-2016, 10:35 AM
How are you importing your assets? As obj, fbx files?

You probably need to rebuild your surface colors. The surface groups should still be there. Getting all the surface information from on program to another usually doesn't translate because the programs work differently.

In regards to scale issues you can either scale them down in Modeler or Layout. But working with the demo may restrict the point count of your files unless you're working with the unlimited time limited demo.