PDA

View Full Version : zbrush to quixel?

sadkkf
12-12-2016, 10:03 AM
Hey--

I'm just getting started with Zbrush and am already hitting a wall.

How do I bring my models into Quixel to texture? I'm creating UV's in Zbrush just fine, but exporting them to OBJ seems to lose them. I know I'm missing a simple step, but can't figure this out.

What I'm doing is creating the UVs in Zbrush, copying them to my model, saving the model then exporting the OBJ. They don't even export to the FBX format. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Norka
12-12-2016, 10:16 AM
Why export OBJ when you have the wonderful GoZ button? Get your GoZ working to and from LW/ZB. Then do FBX out of LW, and you should be good-to-go!

I do own both Quixel Suite and Substance Painter... QS is sitting on the shelf. SP opens LWO, and I ended up liking.. er, loving, the SP workspace/workflow much better...

sadkkf
12-12-2016, 10:24 AM
Ha. Cool. I'll give that a try.

I'm not crazy about Quixel, but I did buy it cheap and thought I'd go with it for a while. I'll probably go with SP in the future because that workflow seems much easier. That is, unless Quixel finally goes standalone. :)

Thank you!

hrgiger
12-12-2016, 10:37 AM
Yeah I use zbrush and substance painter but I always take my model out of zb, do the uvs externally, then either take an fbx or a lwo into substance painter.

sadkkf
12-12-2016, 10:38 AM
Why? Creating UVs in ZB seems crazy simple. Creating them from poygroups is a snap.

hrgiger
12-12-2016, 11:10 AM
because even though zbrush is the best app in my opinion for sculpting, both retopology and uvs are so much better in 3DCoat.

Surrealist.
12-12-2016, 11:44 AM
Why? Creating UVs in ZB seems crazy simple. Creating them from poygroups is a snap.

UVs should really be done by hand. Make seems and unwrap. There is not enough control in any auto solution I have found. Especially going into a heavy texturing pipeline with something like QS of SD.