PDA

View Full Version : UV Maps Copy Paste???

Rhothgar
12-02-2016, 07:15 AM
Okay I've spent hours now combing through the forums, google, youtube, etc and can't seem to find the answer. Or the "answer" simply doesn't work. I'm hesitant to post this since it seems like it should be very strait forward and you people must get tired of the same simple questions being asked over and over again. I've reached that point that I'm frustrated and want to quit. UGH! So here it goes.

Let me say I am very new to UV mapping. I have avoided it for the most part because it seems so technical and clunky but I have reached the point that I need to learn it.

Something that seems to be so simple is so NOT simple and extremely annoying.

I'm on Lightwave 9.6 (64bit version) Win 10

I have a model with multiple uv's for numerous surfaces all on one layer. My plan was to planer map as much as possible so I would not have to edit the UV's as much and it just seems easier. For example "foot_top" is one surface with it's own UV and "foot_bottom" it's own surface and UV.

I thought "I'll just do that then combine the UV's into one for painting in photoshop later".

I have tried to cut and past the poly's to "separate" or unweld points like many suggest then "copy vertex map" and "type the exact name of the other UV/vertex map I wanted it to go to but it doesn't work. OR it adds the copied UV's but still connects all the points with long skewed poly's. OR it simply creates a New UV map with that SAME target name but ONLY includes the copied UVs NOT the UVs contained in the target UV map... I have tried to copy and paste into a separate layer. I have tried "copy UV's" and "Paste UV's".

Confused as I am? I hope not.

I don't get it. I have spent numerous hours day after day after day working on this model and now I'm very stuck.

Any help would be much appreciated.

daforum
12-02-2016, 07:42 AM
Hi Rhothgar. I just did a search online and saw this: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=fKHWby81EIk