PDA

View Full Version : Procedural Rough Stone Texture?



objuan
11-22-2016, 07:21 PM
Does anyone have some good tips on texturing an ever changing old castle? As if it is made with lots of different sized curved stones...

I'm pretty pleased with this look I got below, with some image maps and UV's

135145

But (as Tyrian would say) my clients are all about changing and experimenting with the castle shape, and battlements, and so on... and the UV mapping approach is turning out to be a real hassle. At least with my amateur skills with UVs. Especially in areas like where the battlements meet the castle wall, not to mention I dont want every battlement to have the same texture.

What would be lots better is some sort of procedural multisize stone texture, that lives in the infinite volume of space... and wherever my polys end up intersecting said texture, its good to go.

Any tips?

ernpchan
11-22-2016, 08:53 PM
Have you tried ifw textures?

pinkmouse
11-23-2016, 04:56 AM
Pic's a bit dark mate! :)

IFW2 may help, but it doesn't have a true multisize procedural, however the textures it does have will look much better as you have much more control over them. You may well still need to split the object up into different parts to use the right projection method, but most UV mapping should be eliminated, (though if you have "Hero" areas you might still want to UV them).

JoePoe
11-23-2016, 12:24 PM
How about Rman collection? (part of dp kit)
Stones and/or Cells and/or Stained and Blocks. Lots to play with.

Real quick...
135149 135148

You could probably get the same effect from native procedurals using Veins, Grid/Brick etc....

prometheus
11-23-2016, 01:23 PM
How about Rman collection? (part of dp kit)
Stones and/or Cells and/or Stained and Blocks. Lots to play with.

Real quick...
135149 135148

You could probably get the same effect from native procedurals using Veins, Grid/Brick etc....

Yep..I would recommend fiddle with that too..looks good by the way.

the free simbiont shaders may also have something, they work with 2015.3 32 bit at least, not sure if it works with 64 bit, I doubt it though...
you ofcourse need to install the simbiont plugin first, then load the files with the dsts.extension from the shader simbiont tabs, and be careful not selecting the pics if you have the thumbs in there as well, it will probably not crash..but just gives you an error of bad or corrupt file if you accidently load an image instead of the dsts files.

http://www.darksim.com/Repository/tx_Building/
Check all the other categories here...
http://www.darksim.com/html/simbiontlw.html


http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=135150&d=1479932513

objuan
11-27-2016, 11:19 PM
Thanks guys. Pretty sure one of these methods will work better than UVing has been.