PDA

View Full Version : Mac or PC

maclamb
12-15-2003, 12:06 PM
I posted incorrectly (i see now) in another forum.

I am a hobbyist new to LW (haven't even purchased yet- just playing around with Strata 3d Pro now on my pb 867 - I have tried it on a DP G4 1.5 and it's real fast - about 10% faster than a dell 2.4G P4).

I plan to get LW early next year...

I have a definate mac-preference over PCs - and about $2500-$3000 to spend (inlcuding RAM!) and need your advice - should I go with the Mac or PC (DP xeon or DP Opteron seem to be the choices).

Purchases won't happen until after MWSF, AND I get an apple Educational discount, So I may be able to get a DP G5 2.2, 4 or higher, depending on price.

Others seem to swear by PC for stability, features, ease of use of LW.
But you all here seem pretty happy. I assume by the time I buy LW in January I'll get the upgrade to 8 (LW Ed. Disc includes upgrade to 8, vendor said).
I also have a few PCs at home (dell 2.4 G desktops and laptops) that I coudld use for dist. rendering...
As I said, I prefer macs over PCs, if the speed/feature diffs are minimal Macs win.
If there are *significant* speed/usability LW issues then PCs win.

My main questions are;
If you had my $ ;-) and were buying a new machine, "starting from scratch", what would you buy? (pc or mac, and which)?

How much RAM (1 or Gig)?

what video card?

Some of the things people talk about - plug -ins, etc are maybe not so important for a beginner. As a beginner/hobbyist, ease/stability/speed are important, not maybe all the bells and whistles.

NonPlanar
12-15-2003, 01:13 PM
Hi,

Most people that read this part of the forum are pretty high on macs (me included).

The good thing about Lightwave is that it now comes with a dongle that works on both macs and IBMs ( + compatibles... hereafter PCs) and you'll receive the software for both platforms also.

So, once you have it, you can install it on various machines to try it out.