PDA

View Full Version : Nvidia's Iray?



VonBon
10-19-2016, 10:43 AM
http://www.nvidia-arc.com/iray.html

Has anyone used this?
I was wondering if it is something like..............
and for the life of me I can't think of the name, Lol

You know, the GPU renderer for LightWave.

- - - Updated - - -

Octane! :foreheads

OlaHaldor
10-19-2016, 11:14 AM
Iray is part of Substance Painter (and Designer too?), and works very well. Granted, in Painter you're only able to render a still, but everything is done for you. All you have to do is load a model, import (or create) textures, and you're off.

Ernest
10-19-2016, 01:15 PM
It's now the default renderer of DAZ studio, which is free, so you can check it out. It lets you render just from CPU, just from GPU or both with a checkbox.

VonBon
10-19-2016, 01:21 PM
I just bought an RX 480, hopefully it'll be compatible.

AndyUno1
10-19-2016, 01:48 PM
I used the demo version in C4D and really liked it. It has been a little while and I've slept since then, but it was pretty easy to set up and I was able to get pretty decent render times.

rustythe1
10-19-2016, 04:25 PM
it will only work on CPU if you do not have Nvidia cards, they also need to be 9 series or above if i am not mistaken.

Ernest
10-19-2016, 05:26 PM
It works fine with 6 series.