PDA

View Full Version : [Linux] Unable To Activate Chronosculpt



grabiller
09-20-2016, 07:49 AM
Hi,

Two Chronosculpt v1.01 licenses have been bought by the company I'm currently working at.

Unfortunately we are unable to activate Chronosculpt. Whenever we drag&drop the license files to the licensing panel, we get the "The license has been added. Please restart ChronoSculpt to activate it".

Upon restart, the Licensing panel appears again, asking to drag&drop a license.

However, each time, the same license informations are added to the <user_home>/.NewTek/ChronoSculpt/1.0/licenses/LICENSE.LWK file.

I suspect ChronoSculpt attempt to connect to the Newtek database or something, should we open some specific port(s) in order for the activation process to succeed ?

(we are on Ubuntu)
Thanks in advance for any help on this.

Cheers,
Guy.

cagey5
09-20-2016, 09:03 AM
I'm on Ubuntu and it worked initially but now falls to start. I've not really had the time to think about why it's not working. I'll have a go when I get back to my computer later and let you know if and how I get it working.

glw
04-10-2018, 02:21 AM
Hi,

Two Chronosculpt v1.01 licenses have been bought by the company I'm currently working at.

Unfortunately we are unable to activate Chronosculpt. Whenever we drag&drop the license files to the licensing panel, we get the "The license has been added. Please restart ChronoSculpt to activate it".

Upon restart, the Licensing panel appears again, asking to drag&drop a license.

However, each time, the same license informations are added to the <user_home>/.NewTek/ChronoSculpt/1.0/licenses/LICENSE.LWK file.

I suspect ChronoSculpt attempt to connect to the Newtek database or something, should we open some specific port(s) in order for the activation process to succeed ?

(we are on Ubuntu)
Thanks in advance for any help on this.

Cheers,
Guy.

Not sure if you ever found a solution for this but I ran into the same problem awhile back and one of NewTek's guys, Bob Wood I believe, gave me this solution:

1) Install ChronoSculpt, launch it, drop your .LWK license onto the splash, restart the application, close it.
2) Create a launcher on your desktop (or use alacarte to create a launcher in XFCE/Gnome menus).
3) For the command, use this: sh -c '/opt/NewTek/ChronoSculpt1.0.1/bin/configure set && /opt/NewTek/ChronoSculpt1.0.1/bin/ChronoSculpt'
4) Restart your computer and you should be able to use ChronoSculpt as intended.

Iíve tried the above on Fedora, Arch, and Debian derivatives. Itís worked for me. Side note, the above assumes that you installed CS in its default directory.