PDA

View Full Version : Freeze tool in LW 2015? 3D printing



mysticpixels
09-15-2016, 05:34 PM
hello All,

It has been a long time since I have used Lightwave 3D. I am old timer from the old Amiga days although I have been occasionally looking around in each new version, LW 8.0 was the last version I had a lot of experience with. I am preparing for a 3D print export test, where is the freeze tool in 2015 version modeler? Thanks.

prometheus
09-16-2016, 08:21 AM
hello All,

It has been a long time since I have used Lightwave 3D. I am old timer from the old Amiga days although I have been occasionally looking around in each new version, LW 8.0 was the last version I had a lot of experience with. I am preparing for a 3D print export test, where is the freeze tool in 2015 version modeler? Thanks.

what is there to freeze? everything non suppatched doesn´t need freezing triangulation perhaps..ctrl-t (lwcad excluded in assumption) for freezing subpatches, you can use ctrl d, and make sure you set subpatch level in preferences, for the right amount of freezing.
for the button...go to construct/convert and freeze.
there is also stl export options that may help, just go to I/O tab and click on stl and you have some options..it will automaticly freeze with triangulation preferably.
You can also use either metaform or subdivide to freeze, but there you need to be aware of what type of shape you want for hard surface subdiv or for smooth surface to maintain correct form.


Check


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mL30EJfik34
http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=50817&d=1190976302

09-16-2016, 09:13 AM
ctrl-d is what you want.