PDA

View Full Version : reduce edges tool



pandorian
09-12-2016, 04:26 PM
Hello,

I have lightwave 2015 for mac and i'm going thru a tut which uses LW 8.5. The tut use's the "reduce edges" tool however I can't find that tool anywhere. Out of curiosity, has it been replaced by another tool and if so... which?

Thx,

meatycheesyboy
09-12-2016, 04:36 PM
Reduce Edges was removed in LW9 apparently. This thread offers some alternatives: http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?54391-Where-to-find-Reduce-Edges

prometheus
09-12-2016, 04:55 PM
detail tab/edges/edit edges..
Hovever the edge with the mouse till it is highlighted, shift right mouse click on the highlighted edge to remove edges, works in all modes.
also..if in edge mode and selecting an edge loop, just click delete and it will be removed, this requires mostly selecting the full edge loop.
Then there is construct/reduce/dissolve edge loop (not dissolve) which means you can pick an edge of an edge loop and click dissolve loop without having to select the whole loop.

gerry_g
09-12-2016, 05:20 PM
Detail tab Edges Edit Edges shift click on edge to delete done

jeric_synergy
09-12-2016, 06:01 PM
Detail tab Edges Edit Edges shift click on edge to delete done
True, but won't also that take out the entire Edge Loop?

prometheus
09-12-2016, 07:22 PM
True, but won't also that take out the entire Edge Loop?

Yes..for edit edges and shift click will delete whole loop, same thing with the contruct/remove/dissolve loop.
for just deleting one edge for instance within other edges, Just use dissolve..not dissolve loop, or simply select the edge and delete it with the delete key, I am not sure if it is the same command invoked on that..but do so in non subpatched mode and make sure you have no ngons after that..so if you are working with hardsurface without subpatch it will be ok, like buildings etc, but for organic stuff unless working in catmull clark, otherwise the subpatch will be screwed up.

Snosrap
09-13-2016, 10:09 PM
Use Remove. I've hot keyed it to the Delete key.

prometheus
09-13-2016, 10:43 PM
Use Remove. I've hot keyed it to the Delete key.

I havenīt hotkeyed it at all, I think it is by default set to the delete key.

Snosrap
09-14-2016, 05:53 PM
I havenīt hotkeyed it at all, I think it is by default set to the delete key.

Super! Everybody, use the Delete key!

jeric_synergy
09-14-2016, 06:30 PM
I thought I'd key'ed mine too. As long as everyone knows it's an option.

gerry_g
09-15-2016, 03:34 AM
when did this happen, do this in Modo all the time, can delete not just geometry but whole layers this way even texture maps, I know delete will remove nodes in node editor in LW but never twigged it worked elsewhere

erikals
09-15-2016, 05:44 AM
note, for a high detail mesh use BandGlue, it is 4 times faster (or more) than deleting edges.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2I0QUqxk2PQ

gerry_g
09-15-2016, 08:14 AM
yes fine Delete is slowest method not only to delete but also undelete, bandglue is the daddy both ways, BUT shift click edit edges is the NEW fastest way and although it is primarily for loops in your scenario it would terminate where there is no clear path to follow ( here at scientific labs inc. we used a tessellated cube with a hundred devisions in all directions for the purposes of this experiment)

erikals
09-16-2016, 05:21 AM
shift click edit edges

Voila! Much faster! http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif cool stuff! http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/king.gif