PDA

View Full Version : "Mirror Paint" -- mandala or kaleidescope painting?



jeric_synergy
09-04-2016, 05:43 PM
Remember how Deluxe Paint had a "Mirror" mode that allowed you to specify a number of axes of reflection and paint in real time?

What s/w would you use nowadays to do the same thing? :santa:

Tnx. :caffeine:

PixelDust
09-04-2016, 05:59 PM
Clip Studio Paint, Corel Painter, and ArtRage can all do this.

prometheus
09-04-2016, 06:34 PM
particle 9
I got it when it was offered for free a limited time here on the forums, it got a kaleidoscope mode you can set brushes to range from 2-10, and set center where you wish it will evolve from, or choose simple mirror painting.
if isnīt for free anymore, I think it is quite cheap . $7.99
trial here..
http://squirreldome.com/Download.htm

http://squirreldome.com/particle_9.htm

jeric_synergy
09-12-2016, 05:59 PM
(adding for searchability: symmetry, symmetry drawing, symmetry painting )

prometheus
09-19-2016, 10:22 AM
I was mentioning particle 9 ..but it was only free for a certain time and I think it had limitations with no layers.

Krita however might be wort looking in to, itīs completly free, and has some nice brushes..it can be a little slow perhaps, but you can paint in symmetry (check upper arrow)
and you can paint in kaleidoscope mode..called multibrushes (check left arrow) thatīs where they are.






http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=134507&d=1474302068

Michael

LW_Will
09-20-2016, 12:15 PM
Hey, is there a way to link LW and Krita together? Or are you just floating on on the other?

Of I could make that work, I'd be VERY interested.

bazsa73
09-20-2016, 01:46 PM
Zbrush can do this in 3D automatically.

prometheus
09-20-2016, 02:07 PM
Hey, is there a way to link LW and Krita together? Or are you just floating on on the other?

Of I could make that work, I'd be VERY interested.

That was just me having the windows floating while printscreening, I can paint in the image while having model open, but as soon as I switch to modeler and use image editior to reload the image, the krita window pops, down.
I once had a quadra card with nvidia settings to keep windows on screen, so I could have it both opened...but that was an old quadro card 1100..but nifty feature.
I am not sure if there is a window hack addon to keep them on top or below eachother, I suspect there is, You could also just size windows next to eachother with side by side, the only thing you would have to do then is just having image editor open and reload image after each save you do in krita, in krita you just click save..and it will save over without any request, then just use image editor in modeler and reload.

Now..Sensei also has a plugin to automaticly update image editor once the image is save, so you would only have to save the image from krita..and modeler should update, I havenīt got it myself, but I think it should be helpful..so the only thing you need to work out is how to best have the two software open.

Another note..you can set amount of brushes in the tools options panel right upper corner (you may need to slide the dragbart to bottom to reach the slider settings) you can set symmetry from 1 to 50, and there is also an axis tool to control show axis, rotation angle and starting point center of kaleidoscope/multibrush..

Heres that plugin..for autoupdating modeler image once you save it from krita, or any other paint program..Commercial..
http://www2.trueart.pl/?URIType=Directory&URI=Products/Plug-Ins/AutoUpdateImages

Rayek
09-20-2016, 02:58 PM
That was just me having the windows floating while printscreening, I can paint in the image while having model open, but as soon as I switch to modeler and use image editior to reload the image, the krita window pops, down.
I once had a quadra card with nvidia settings to keep windows on screen, so I could have it both opened...but that was an old quadro card 1100..but nifty feature.
I am not sure if there is a window hack addon to keep them on top or below eachother, I suspect there is, You could also just size windows next to eachother with side by side, the only thing you would have to do then is just having image editor open and reload image after each save you do in krita, in krita you just click save..and it will save over without any request, then just use image editor in modeler and reload.



Various options:
http://www.nurgo-software.com/products/aquasnap
http://www.snapfiles.com/get/deskpins.html
http://www.abstractpath.com/powermenu/
http://www.4t-niagara.com/tray.html
https://ontopreplica.codeplex.com/

Or with a simple script and AutoHotkey:
http://www.howtogeek.com/196958/the-3-best-ways-to-make-a-window-always-on-top-on-windows/

prometheus
09-20-2016, 04:14 PM
Various options:
http://www.nurgo-software.com/products/aquasnap
http://www.snapfiles.com/get/deskpins.html
http://www.abstractpath.com/powermenu/
http://www.4t-niagara.com/tray.html
https://ontopreplica.codeplex.com/

Or with a simple script and AutoHotkey:
http://www.howtogeek.com/196958/the-3-best-ways-to-make-a-window-always-on-top-on-windows/


Thanks, now which one of them is less proned to interfer with other things..less on memory overall?
since this is run as software in the background, I think I tried autohotkey..but I thought it was behaving weird in the background, and interfering with other stuff..but it was a long time ago.

Rayek
09-20-2016, 04:39 PM
Aquasnap is pretty nice, and improves windows management as well, although I turn the window snapping off since I prefer an older version of WinSplit Revolution for that task.

Aquasnap takes up 10kb of memory, and is inert (takes up no cpu cycles), unless activated.

(And the transparent glass effect while dragging a window is actually quite handy too!)

prometheus
09-20-2016, 06:28 PM
Aquasnap is pretty nice, and improves windows management as well, although I turn the window snapping off since I prefer an older version of WinSplit Revolution for that task.

Aquasnap takes up 10kb of memory, and is inert (takes up no cpu cycles), unless activated.

(And the transparent glass effect while dragging a window is actually quite handy too!)


Thanks, do you know if that is restricted to the main software window frame, or can you use it to snap/dock lightwave window modules? to dock surface panel, image editor etc I suspect not?

Rayek
09-21-2016, 12:57 AM
Snapping works for the Editor windows as well as for the main Layout window. The built-in <windows key> <cursor key left> / <cursor key right> snap key combos do not work with the Editors. Aquasnap actually does a better job with the main Layout window on my three screen system compared to Winsplit Revolution and the built-in Windows snapping: for some reason the other two refuse to correctly snap the main window to the right edge any given screen.

With Aquasnap it works as expected.

Dan Ritchie
09-21-2016, 12:51 PM
All the paint programs got in a race to add symmetry tools a few years ago. Program versions appeared within days of each other. It was like an old-time paint war.

jeric_synergy
09-21-2016, 01:29 PM
Well, PShop musta slept in.

prometheus
09-21-2016, 01:58 PM
Photoshop c3 is the only version I got, no symmetry painting which I am quite baffled about, not sure if they have managed to implement it fully in the latest photoshop versions.

I mentioned particle 9 here, itīs cool..but I donīt think my version supports layer, so for this kind of painting on uv maps etc..I dropped it and fired up krita which I have only used a few times, but I am starting to like it, it has some nice brushes and you can paint in layers....brush presets are sort of easier to work with than with photoshop..and in a painting style ala corel painter.

So for now I will try and spend some more time with krita, and for 3d painting going for blender for a while.

Krita..
Quick tips would be shift-leftmouse drag to scale brush size, layers are a bit different, and controls for adding new layers etc are in the bottom of that panel (+) and layer opacity at the top of the panel.
symmetry is easy to find on the top menu as I pointed out in the image posted before, multibrush..wich counts for kaleidoscope painting is shown as well.

Danner
09-22-2016, 09:06 AM
Photoshop is such an odd beast, it has some incredible tools, yet lacks some really basic ones, (want to paint a circle? better go watch a tutorial on youtube how to draw a darn circle in photoshop..) As far as I got was CS5, and no, it has no radial symmetry.

jeric_synergy
09-22-2016, 09:14 AM
Photoshop is such an odd beast, it has some incredible tools, yet lacks some really basic ones, (want to paint a circle? better go watch a tutorial on youtube how to draw a darn circle in photoshop..) As far as I got was CS5, and no, it has no radial symmetry.

I agree, it's maddening when you come from 'simpler' apps, to do simple things in PShop. Eventually you give up and use the vector tools.

prometheus
09-22-2016, 12:12 PM
Photoshop is such an odd beast, it has some incredible tools, yet lacks some really basic ones, (want to paint a circle? better go watch a tutorial on youtube how to draw a darn circle in photoshop..) As far as I got was CS5, and no, it has no radial symmetry.

true...circle would be using the shape tools, wich you can set to pixel fill, so you wonīt even need to rasterize, then choose circle with thin frame.
Alternatively, just use selection oval marque and drag out with shift hold down to make it uniform round, then right click in the selection and choose stroke, that will fill it with a stroke size.
With shapes set to shape rather than pixel fill..you will be able to use ctrl and negatively subtract from shapes, with pixel you can not do that.

but symmetry is really lacking, and krita has very interesting brushes, you can also drag curves much easier, as well as using curves to paint in brushes art within the curves, with multibrushes you can use some nice symbols that are in the preset settings of the brush edit settings, in the tip brush settings if you select a proper brush with that active.

bazsa73
09-23-2016, 04:14 AM
Zbrush

Dan Ritchie
09-23-2016, 12:39 PM
Photoshop is such an odd beast, it has some incredible tools, yet lacks some really basic ones, (want to paint a circle? better go watch a tutorial on youtube how to draw a darn circle in photoshop..) As far as I got was CS5, and no, it has no radial symmetry.

I couldn't draw a square in Photoshop, and that's why I wrote Dogwaffle in the first place, and that was almost 20 years ago.

prometheus
10-10-2016, 10:04 AM
I was just testing out selections in krita, and noticed that you can within one layer make selection layers quite simple, in a way that seems better than photoshop, so you can turn them on off active..or just visibililty etc, it is however a bit more quirky to move selections only without them affecting the image and only moving selection, for that you have to make sure a path selection is set to vector..then use transform a layer or selection, and click and move, first the selection get highlighted..wich I am not a fan of, then when you move..you have to drop it with enter and it takes some millisecond before it changes position..so when dealing with moving a selection ..photoshop is way better in my opinion...since you just hover over the selection and move, itīs quite easy to just swap between convert to selection..and path, edit the path, then convert back to selection for paint reduce or add within the selection.

Krita however has a select an area of the image with path, which is kind of a spline path drawing selection tool, and in my opinion better than polygonal lasso tool in photoshop, on the other hand, photoshop can do similar with the use of the pen tool and itīs bezier path..then just right click to convert to a selection.

Dan Ritchie
10-13-2016, 02:09 PM
>>I was mentioning particle 9 ..but it was only free for a certain time and I think it had limitations with no layers.

I haven't used Particle 9 in a while, but I believe it had 2 layers similar to DPaints swap and main. You could do layer blending with the swap image and then merge them later.