PDA

View Full Version : Memory gestion



THIBAULT
09-02-2016, 11:07 AM
Good evening,
I'm working on a big project and I wonder if the memory management by Lightwave like it or not invisible objects at render time.
I will lighten my scene (polygons and textures) but is there a way to accelerate video rendering by turning off objects unseen by the camera.
Thanks

meshpig
09-03-2016, 01:42 AM
"Unseen by Camera" in the object's properties/render pane :)

ianr
09-03-2016, 08:44 AM
What memory amount/size have you got?

I have always relutantly upgraded size,
for many hang up problems in LW & PSHOP
to float away

THIBAULT
09-03-2016, 08:55 AM
what memory amount/size have you got?

I have always relutantly upgraded size,
for many hang up problems in lw & pshop
to float away

64 go

ianr
09-03-2016, 09:38 AM
Chop the scene down in Modeler: Mesh & Culled textures (rename test2) ,

to just overspill (safety) size to your camera size track anim motion in Layout

Its a question of eyeballin' until we get Camera in modeler 2016

THIBAULT
09-03-2016, 09:59 AM
Chop the scene down in Modeler: Mesh & Culled textures (rename test2) ,

to just overspill (safety) size to your camera size track anim motion in Layout

Its a question of eyeballin' until we get Camera in modeler 2016

Oupss ! Thanks but i don't understand - English isn't my native language, sorry !

Markc
09-03-2016, 11:45 AM
I don't understand....and I am English :confused:
But then I might be daft.

ianr
09-05-2016, 08:38 AM
Track how your Layout Camera moves through your big Scene then
reduce the Mesh to a size that is a little bigger than the LW Camera.
Say just bigger than the safety-limits box of where that camera travels
throught your scene.Reduce & or delete Textures that are outside of shot.

In essence make a Tunnel in your scene to match the animation path of your
layout camera. Cut out everything else NOT SEEN in modeler, then reshoot.
It's an old gaming trick for frame speed.


Sadly Rob P. didn't or couldn't add The Avatar plugin 'Nested worlds'
that you have helped your plight/Problem. Remember don't edit the big scene
master,so save this as Test2,3, 4,etc Whatever gets you down to your system's
liking. Is that better Mon brav?

Markc
09-05-2016, 10:36 AM
Ah that makes more sense to me Ian :D
Your short hand version left me a bit befuddled.

THIBAULT
09-06-2016, 09:37 AM
Thanks "Ianr"

ianr
09-08-2016, 05:31 AM
I do not know what this big project is in scene terms,

but I would invest in this realBoolean Plug-in which can

cut cleanly through sub-assemblies in realtime from 3rd powers

here is the proof. it will make life easier Mon brav!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VDBAynYqiOA

Sensei
09-08-2016, 08:42 AM
If it's viewport OpenGL speed issue, perhaps turn view mode to bounding box?