PDA

View Full Version : LW to Unreal 4.13 - Alembic

gamedesign1
08-27-2016, 07:27 PM
Hi all

Anyone had any success with importing scenes into Unreal 4.13 Beta using Alembic animations.
I am very new to Unreal and I cannot seem to get my head around it.
I am basically wanting to export my existing scenes as complete animations so I can import them into the Unreal engine.
I am basically in two minds at the moment whether to render using Octane or Unreal. Obviously Octane is the easiest method, but the speed of outputting renders from Unreal is very appealing.

gamedesign1
08-28-2016, 01:39 PM
Hi all. Is it that no one has tried it yet?

jwiede
08-28-2016, 02:07 PM
Which version of LW are you using?

gamedesign1
08-28-2016, 02:47 PM
Which version of LW are you using?

Hi jwiede, I'm using 2015.3

jwiede
08-28-2016, 04:07 PM
Hi jwiede, I'm using 2015.3

Okay, same as here then. What platform (win/mac) and what kind(s) of animation (object motion, deformation, morph-over-time, instance motion/flocking...?) are you using Alembic to export? Also, if suitable, have you tried loading the .abc into Chronosculpt?

gamedesign1
08-28-2016, 09:07 PM
Okay, same as here then. What platform (win/mac) and what kind(s) of animation (object motion, deformation, morph-over-time, instance motion/flocking...?) are you using Alembic to export? Also, if suitable, have you tried loading the .abc into Chronosculpt?

I am on a Windows. My animations are a mixture of bones with weight maps and morph targets.
No i havent opened it into Chronosculpt. Is there something Chronosculpt can do with exporting to Unreal that Lightwave can't?

Surrealist.
08-28-2016, 11:05 PM
I think he was just trying to verify if the Alembic export is working by itself.

I would need to know what steps you are taking and what does not seem to be working. I don't have the beta installed. Do you have a link to it and any instructions about using Alembic? I can probably sort it as I have been using Unreal for a while.