PDA

View Full Version : Chamfer Reloaded...



erikals
08-25-2016, 04:13 PM
just having a go at comparing Chamfer / Rounder

attached .lwo


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBIi2GX_HGA

jboudreau
08-25-2016, 04:33 PM
Yeah it's happening with your model as well. for some reason the line pen tool doesn't work well depending on how the normals are flipped. With your model it works with the polygon flipped the proper way. With my model the polygon has to be flipped with the normal pointing in ward for it to work. It's very strange. I explain it more on the link below.

On your model if you flip the polygon shown in the image below so the normal is pointing downward you will see what I'm talking about. You won't be able to snap to some of the vertex's you are showing in your video

134170

You can also try my model below. All the normals are flipped the proper way but for some reason in my model I can't get the pen tool to snap to the vertex like you show in your video. If I flip that polygon the pen tool works properly.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/lightwiki/permalink/888708114568522/

Thanks,
Jason

erikals
08-25-2016, 04:49 PM
in regards to the line pen, i'm not sure actually.

it might be Ngons that is causing it?... tested the Drive.lwo file, but didn't find the solution just yet... hmm...

jboudreau
08-25-2016, 04:53 PM
in regards to the line pen, i'm not sure actually.

it might be Ngons that is causing it?... tested the Drive.lwo file, but didn't find the solution just yet... hmm...

In my model if you flip that polygon I showed you that fixes the issue but it shouldn't be flipped so I'm not sure what's going on.

erikals
08-25-2016, 05:01 PM
yeah, not quite sure...


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWFUq0iyQzA

jboudreau
08-25-2016, 05:08 PM
Sorry man sent you the wrong model. Here is the right one. As for the rendering issue, you need to click n on the keyboard and choose normal for the rendering mode. I'm really not sure why but it's the only mode that works with that model. You are right it definitely has something to do with ngons because as soon as I make everything quads the line pen works as it should. It definitely doesn't like ngons

jboudreau
08-25-2016, 05:18 PM
There's another issue with the line pen tool. If you have a polygon like the image below and you use the pen tool with the constraint option (holding down the ctrl while you make the slice) It makes the slice but it actually doesn't divide the geometry. Not sure what is going on there either

134173

erikals
08-25-2016, 05:51 PM
i have no definitive answer, but let's call it an Ngon related bug. http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif


As for the rendering issue, you need to click n on the keyboard and choose normal for the rendering mode.
ah, yeah. hm, well, good thing that specific thing is 'only' a display limitation.
but again, no idea about the Line Pen, but it's very likely a bug.

jboudreau
08-25-2016, 05:53 PM
i have no definitive answer, but let's call it an Ngon related bug. http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

Yeah I agree. As for the other issue that isn't an ngon related bug becuase it's a quad.

erikals
08-30-2016, 10:04 AM
ahem, i should've used "Slice" and not "Line Pen"

oh well, such happens.

not sure if it would've made a difference though, doubt it.