PDA

View Full Version : Export an .FBX file from Lightwave containing animations to be opened in 3DS Max



sebseb
08-17-2016, 01:38 PM
Hi folks,

I'm having an issue...

I've a 3D asset containing animation, I try to export as an .FBX files from Lightwave to 3ds max.
Unfortunaly, my animation did not work when trying in Max.

Is it the best way to export animation for Max ?
I tried .ABCbut then I can't edit my mesh as a poly or editable mesh

Any advice is more than welcome,
thanks for your support

sebseb
08-17-2016, 02:12 PM
I'm using different morphs to animate

Schwyhart
08-17-2016, 08:22 PM
Try using alembic file format.
.abc

Surrealist.
08-17-2016, 08:42 PM
If you are using morphs to animate as far as I know that won't actually come through fBX. At least not from LightWave.

What you'd have to do is export each morph target as an obj to 3D Max. And set up morphs there. I don't use Max, so I can't help with that. But it also forms another question which is, if you want to continue to edit the mesh I am not sure how that works in Max. You can do it in LightWave by making the morph relative.

In general more info on what you are doing would help.

Ztreem
08-17-2016, 11:47 PM
If you are using morphs to animate as far as I know that won't actually come through fBX. At least not from LightWave.



Yes it does, at least in Unity they come through fbx from LW. :D

Surrealist.
08-18-2016, 01:56 AM
That's pretty cool. Wonder why it is not working in Max?

rustythe1
08-18-2016, 03:13 AM
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/item?siteID=123112&id=10775920
maybe try using autodesks free FBX converter as a go between (looks like they stopped developing it in 2013 so maybe thats the problem with max?)

Ztreem
08-18-2016, 03:41 AM
One other solutions is to use the mdd baker in lightwave to generate a pc2 file and then use this point cache file to drive your object in 3DS.

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/3ds-max/learn-explore/caas/CloudHelp/cloudhelp/2016/ENU/3DSMax/files/GUID-BBD466E2-DC18-467C-958F-B06E2C575EA3-htm.html

- - - Updated - - -


That's pretty cool. Wonder why it is not working in Max?

Maybe MAX isn't as cool as everybody thinks. :D

sebseb
08-18-2016, 02:11 PM
Thanks for your support guys !

ok I'll try as .pc2

Basically I have a boat an a sail which open via a morph modifier and soft body dynamics

Surrealist.
08-18-2016, 08:32 PM
But that is a point cache as well. You still won't be able to change the point position or add or remove point data in Max. You could as easily use Alembic considering you are also using cloth. Correct? I thought you were trying keep editing the mesh data in Max. Or maybe I don't follow you.