PDA

View Full Version : I can't get the background colour of the viewport and graph editor to change



stib
07-27-2016, 06:43 PM
I want to get rid of the annoying colour cast in the viewports and Graph editor that the LW UI designers decided was a good idea (who ARE these people?) and make it a non-saturated neutral grey. I've tried Display settings>Customise Interface Colour>Graph Editor BG, then quitting, quitting hub, restarting, but every time it defaults to the same greenish-blueish tint (69, 72, 75).

I've managed to change the colours of the menus and XYZ/HPB etc channels, but not through the UI, I added the settings to LWHUB2015.3-64.CFG file, but I can't find the name for the Viewport BG or graph editor BG setting. I tried


GraphEditorBGColor 48 48 48
WindowBGColor 64 64 64

and


GraphEditorBackgroundColor 48 48 48
WindowBGColor 64 64 64

…but it didn't work. Anyonje managed to get rid of the green tint who can help me out?

prometheus
07-27-2016, 07:10 PM
did you try the interactive UI color changer?
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?115493-Interactive-GUI-Color-Tool-for-LW10&highlight=lightwave+ui+color+interface

stib
07-27-2016, 07:35 PM
Ok, got it, ViewportBackgroundColor 64 64 64 did the trick for the main viewport, but I still can't get the graph editor to change. Also, these buttons aren't listed in the Customise Colour window. Anyone know what they're called?

133807

Matt
07-27-2016, 08:03 PM
I want to get rid of the annoying colour cast in the viewports and Graph editor that the LW UI designers decided was a good idea (who ARE these people?)

Those people would be me, who also opened up more of the GUI to be user configurable from what it used to be. You're welcome. ;)

You need to look a little closer, the option is there ...

133809

djwaterman
07-27-2016, 08:30 PM
Yay Matt.

stib
07-27-2016, 08:50 PM
Ok, after a while stuffing about when I should be working I've got most of the UI colours figured out:


XMotionColor 226 39 0
YMotionColor 160 220 0
ZMotionColor 10 194 255
XRotationColor 255 30 141
YRotationColor 0 203 152
ZRotationColor 19 95 255
XScaleColor 255 0 70
YScaleColor 0 226 86
ZScaleColor 94 48 255
XMotionColorHiLite 255 92 73
YMotionColorHiLite 196 255 113
ZMotionColorHiLite 103 203 255
XRotationColorHiLite 255 114 240
YRotationColorHiLite 136 255 190
ZRotationColorHiLite 82 134 255
XScaleColorHiLite 255 71 121
YScaleColorHiLite 104 255 161
ZScaleColorHiLite 148 139 255
Background 40 40 40
StateButtonColor 95 85 65
DragButtonColor 45 45 45
ActionButtonColor 60 70 85
DialogButtonColor 60 70 50
ToolButtonColor 90 85 60
ButtonSelectedColor 48 48 48
ButtonSelectedText 255 170 55
ButtonTextColor 30 0 50
InfoAreaColor 30 30 30
InfoAreaTextColor 240 240 240
WindowBackgroundColor 54 54 54
ViewportBackgroundColor 60 60 60
GridColor 30 30 30
AxesColor 8 8 8
GEBackgroundColor 15 15 15
TreeBodyColor 50 50 50
TreeText 200 200 200

As with anything LW it's totally inconsistent and looks like it was made up as they went along with no planning whatsoever. Why else would every setting have the word Color in it except ButtonSelectedText? Why GEBackgroundColor, when all the other controls don't use abrieviations? Why ColorHilite, not HiliteColor (that one took me ages to work out). Why isn't "colour" spelt correctly anywhere? ;)

BTW this is what my colour scheme looks like. I've given the HPB and Scale channels different colours to the motion channels, to make them easier to find in the graph editor, and I've reduced the saturation of all backgrounds and inactive buttons. It's a much more functional and neutral workspace IMHO

133811

Most of all, why doesn't the tool built into the program work?

stib
07-27-2016, 09:45 PM
@matt As I wrote in the original post I tried it. It would be great if it worked. But it does nothing on my machine. LW 2015.3 Default Windows 64 install.

jeric_synergy
07-27-2016, 10:17 PM
I like yours, it's bright.

I used to get a raft of crap for the garish mockups I made, but at least they were bright. --And free. :grumpy:

+++++++

Also, quitting and restarting to get UI color changes seems pretty 1990. :P

spherical
07-28-2016, 12:00 AM
Why isn't "colour" spelt correctly anywhere?

"Color" is spelled correctly, at last over here where the software originates. "Spelt"? What's that? :)

spherical
07-28-2016, 12:03 AM
@matt As I wrote in the original post I tried it. It would be great if it worked. But it does nothing on my machine. LW 2015.3 Default Windows 64 install.

You mentioned in a previous post that you are modifying the Hub config file. In later versions, after v10 IIRC, UI colors are stored not in the Hub config but in the respective Layout and Modeler config files. That way, you can have different schemes for each.

BokadCastle
07-28-2016, 12:18 AM
"Color" is spelled correctly, at last over here where the software originates. "Spelt"? What's that? :)

Why isn't your 'least' spelt correctly, madam?
btw 'spelt' is English.