PDA

View Full Version : Moving to Tokyo

bbuxton
07-27-2016, 11:28 AM
Rather unexpectedly I find myself moving to Japan.

In February the government made it much harder for non EU immigrants to remain in the UK.
Now after Brexit it has become very difficult for me to earn enough to meet the minimum income for my wife to be able to stay with me in London.
So we move to Japan, initially Tokyo but maybe Osaka a bit later. I don't yet speak enough Japanese to just walk into a new job but am studying hard.
I know Lightwave has a greater presence in Japan than the UK so am hoping to find some leads where my lack of useful Japanese language will not be a barrier.
Most of my work experience has been visualisations and animations for the oil and gas industry and similar work for renewables, wind turbines, solar etc.
I have been using Lightwave for about 15 years.

Many thanks for any tips, leads or advice.

AElli
07-27-2016, 12:36 PM
さようなら
Sayōnara

prometheus
07-27-2016, 12:38 PM
Just curious, where are you originally from?
Well japan seem to have been a stronghold, not quite sure about it though..so it may be a good move if you can settle there without to many troubles, at least you do not go to sweden for the sake of job oppertunies related to lightwave.
I wonder how china is moving along on 3d industry, maybe they do not have much for filmmaking..but perhaps on other 3d areas?

prometheus
07-27-2016, 12:42 PM
さようなら
Sayōnara

I love japanese writings, itīs beautiful, though I have no clue on what the signs mean, sayonara I understand, and konichiwa, wakarimasu?
I must look at that old tv series shogun again, that was fun :) you could pick up some words there.haha, well then we got internet know and translate stuff.

Dexter2999
07-27-2016, 12:51 PM
I wonder how china is moving along on 3d industry, maybe they do not have much for filmmaking..but perhaps on other 3d areas?