PDA

View Full Version : Baking radiosity vs radiosity on each render



injacphi
04-16-2016, 06:18 PM
Hello all,

I made 15 renders with calculating the radiosity on each render. When I made some modification and want to re-render, I need to recalculate all the time of the render. But I was hoping that baking the radiosity for the scene would help me save the calculating time. I baked the radiosity and made a new render of a single frame and compare the result with my previous render and the result is not exactly the same. Someone can explain me how I can get the same result??

injacphi
04-17-2016, 07:12 AM
In fact I discovered that my render without cache give not the same result as the render with cache. Someone as an idea why????

RebelHill
04-17-2016, 07:28 AM
You wont get the same result because GI is monte carlo, and inherently stochastic. Set a lot number of rays (to force a bit of ugliness and splotchies)... render a frame (no cache or anything), and once done, render it again... you'll see you get a slightly different result.

JonW
04-17-2016, 08:02 AM
It depends on the changes you make. If the changes very visually minor then the baked radiosity & Preprocess - Locked, probably the changes are not visible or at the very least bearable.

You need to Lock the radiosity so there are no additional calculations.

injacphi
04-17-2016, 05:32 PM
in fact I don't really know what happened to my scene, the shading don't react the same way as before I used cache, and know whenever I use cache or not the shading is not the same between the renders.... look at the 2 images and you will see the shadow is very dark everywhere on the 004a.133469133470

injacphi
04-17-2016, 05:36 PM
forget about that, I was using the windows preview and he was giving me a bad preview

injacphi
04-17-2016, 07:54 PM
in fact I don't really know what happened to my scene, the shading don't react the same way as before I used cache, and know whenever I use cache or not the shading is not the same between the renders.... look at the 2 images and you will see the shadow is very dark everywhere on the 004a.133469133470

MichaelT
04-17-2016, 11:56 PM
Looks like a light had its ambience level on, in the other picture.

injacphi
04-18-2016, 08:02 AM
what do you mean by ambiance level?