PDA

View Full Version : Dropbox Integration

Schwyhart
04-15-2016, 09:54 AM
First, would saving the .lwo off of Dropbox slow down Lightwave? Like does Lightwave cache the file while its opened, or is it pulling from Dropbox constantly?
Second, would Dropbox integration be something other users would like? Meaning, we could open Dropbox through the Lightwave interface. I'm sure there are other benefits of having it built into Lightwave, but I'm not a developer, so I can't tell you what that would be.

Schwyhart
04-15-2016, 09:58 AM
Just started the Dev app on my Dropbox account. You have to name your app and 'LW_test' is already taken. Maybe someone has already done this?

04-15-2016, 10:26 AM
Why does it need to be a part of lw's system when you can make your dropbox area just like a folder on your computer?
As well, why exclude all the other dropbox systems out there?

With the apps that create folders on your local box synced to your cloud folder, what benefits could come from a directly-connected-to-internet-folder addon for LW?

Schwyhart
04-15-2016, 11:15 AM
I don't know. Just thinking it'd make it slightly easier.
But what about my first question?

04-15-2016, 01:02 PM
LW loads the object into memory. The lag would be in the loading of the file based on the speed of the download.

However, based on what I've seen in using a dropbox system, if the file is synced it is saved locally. To that end, it is not being read off the net.

That's what's bewildering me and I suppose it's best to ask: have you made a way to interface with the net to load an object into LW? At this time, can't say I am aware of a way to do so.

In general, if speed and efficiency are important, it is best to download it to a local device.

spherical
04-15-2016, 05:19 PM