PDA

View Full Version : Realtime Shadows in VSE / Virtual Sets



ZoLO
02-15-2016, 10:45 AM
Customers always ask me, and I did not find a GOOD answer yet.

What about creating realtime "Shadows" in Virtual sets..
Possible scenario:
Create reflection layer in Photoshop and have in VSE the option to reduce saturation to 0 (black) and add a blur (a few %), maybe reduce opacity a bit - et voila: a nice realtime shadow of the moving talent..

Shouldn't be that hard, to add these options to existing layers (Settings made in VSE, NOT in Photoshop) - but would REALLY be a game changer :)

SBowie
02-15-2016, 11:03 AM
Shouldn't be that hard, to add these options to existing layers (Settings made in VSE, NOT in Photoshop) - but would REALLY be a game changer :)Let me just mention that the user interface might not be that hard, but that's about where it ends. If it was easy, we'd have done it years ago. ;)

In particular, a realtime blur is quite problematic.

kanep
02-15-2016, 11:43 AM
The way that reflection layers work don't allow for blur effects or color correction of the source image. I see you are asking for it in VSE, but just posting because its not the first time I've gotten this question with people trying to do it in Photoshop.