PDA

View Full Version : Daz Studio Camera FOV matching in LW

short223
02-12-2016, 11:08 AM
In trying to match the Camera in Daz Studio with LW, I export my camera as an FBX file, with which I then load into LW. This gives me a Null with a Camera attaches with the proper xyz and HPB settings. What I don't seem to get is the Camera Lens properly set. THe default in Daz Studio is 65mm but in LW (after visually trying to match it with a backplate daz render) it appears to be 27mm. Is there a better way / conversion procesdure to get the proper FOV from Daz Studio to LW that I'm missing?

Thanks!

MonroePoteet
02-15-2016, 10:36 AM
I'm no expert, but the discrepancy between the two is due to the difference in the "virtual film size" used in each. For a given Focal Length, the Field of View will be different depending upon the "sensor" or "film" size.

It appears that Daz Studio provides a script for calculating the Horizontal and Vertical FOV for the active camera, here:

http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/referenceguide/scripting/api_reference/samples/rendering/calculate_fov/start

In LW, you can then enter the Horizontal or Vertical FOV directly in the Camera properties using the pull-down which is normally providing Focal Length.

There are other variables involved in the renders (e.g. whether rays entering the lens converge as with a real lens or are parallel as in many virtual lenses, including LW's), but this will probably get you pretty close.

Good luck!
mTp

short223
02-16-2016, 08:38 AM
Thanks for the link. Did something similar with my company's program. Now I have to figure out how to use this Daz script as my initial attempt to run it didn't seem to do anything.....

objuan
02-19-2016, 07:21 PM
Off, but kind of on topic, can one bring a rigged model from DAZ in to LW, and then animate bones in LW?

short223
02-23-2016, 02:20 PM
Off, but kind of on topic, can one bring a rigged model from DAZ in to LW, and then animate bones in LW?