PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another Game Engine (Unity) creates a VR creation mode

Dillon
02-11-2016, 08:08 AM
It's inevitable. Unreal unveiled their VR editor a few days ago. Now Unity has unveiled theirs.

http://vrscout.com/news/unitys-answer-to-unreals-vr-editor-demo/

Creating content in VR is the future. LW3D Group, are you listening?

There are legions of traditional artists out there who refuse to try 3D because of how counter intuitive using a keyboard and mouse are. VR will democratize access to these artists. New market!

spherical
02-11-2016, 04:00 PM
Man, I hate that word...

That which will keep the legions of traditional artists away is the high cost of entry. Didn't stop me, because I'm a multi-disciplinary and into many different fields. Developing technologies interest me more than the run-of-the-mill artist. As an engineer, I will invest more in them than the usual person. Brushes are cheap, so are canvas and illustration board. A big expense decision for me as a traditional artist was whether to buy a Paasche AB turbine airbrush that cost a whopping $245. Went undecided about it for weeks.

Yes, there will be more who have yet to embrace 3D, but it will be a sub-set, just as there are those who are already in 3D and don't find a keyboard and mouse unintuitive in the least. It will be a long time before virtual hands and tools that you can't touch will be embraced by the traditional artist. Not saying that the technology is worthless or shouldn't be developed, but there seems to be more importance placed upon it than reality would warrant.

Dillon
02-11-2016, 04:15 PM
As someone who has been working in art colleges in the Bay Area for a little over 17 years, I respectfully disagree with your assessment of traditional artists and the impact of VR.